HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 09, 2011, 03:39 PM
CNC Cutter
birdofplay's Avatar
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Dec 2005
8,291 Posts
That is my experience also !

BTW , guys ...

My mainstay Alien PC has STOPPED working :-(

So I'm working from the Wifes PC for now.

No more CAD or design changes will be happeing
until I get myself another PC or a FIX ! sigh ...

interaction will be a bit more brief and staggered for a while.

L8r

bob
birdofplay is offline Find More Posts by birdofplay
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 09, 2011, 04:32 PM
Mex
Registered User
The Netherlands, ZH, Rotterdam
Joined Mar 2007
113 Posts
Thanks for the fast replays!
Mex is offline Find More Posts by Mex
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2011, 07:17 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2009
194 Posts
Tough break Bob. I just went through the same thing a couple of months ago..

Robbie
robbiehatfield is offline Find More Posts by robbiehatfield
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2011, 10:56 PM
CNC Cutter
birdofplay's Avatar
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Dec 2005
8,291 Posts
Sorry if repeated:
Didnt search thu everything but THIS is a thread for the FOX Motor
if you want or ever need to rewind it !

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=777998
birdofplay is offline Find More Posts by birdofplay
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2011, 04:17 PM
Mex
Registered User
The Netherlands, ZH, Rotterdam
Joined Mar 2007
113 Posts
I also put the aileron servo's in the wing, now it works fine! The elevator works also how i want it. But i can't get the rudder working good. When i turn it left or right it will not go to the center position... So when i turn the stick to the left and then to the center the rudder keeps about 3mm to the left.


I saw also a mod here by putting the rudder servo in the stabilizer but i don't like the looks of it and i don't know if i can do that. I don't use the rudder so much during flight.

Is there a solution to get the rudder back to the center when i move the stick left or right? Because i don't want to fly it this way.

p.s. i have put in a HXT900 servo for the rudder
Mex is offline Find More Posts by Mex
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2011, 05:28 PM
prop wash
biggy boy's Avatar
North of Toronto in Ontario
Joined Dec 2002
1,173 Posts
Great thread here guys!
I just purchase the Fox EPO today from HK, along with four of the HXT900 servos.
Haven't flown sailplanes since the 80s Had an Olympic II, a House of Balsa glider and a slope soar-er back then. Now I have several 3D foamy electrics that I have been flying since 2003.
So needless to say I'm excited about getting the Fox.

where were the aileron servos located on the older HK Fox planes? It appears the revised version they are selling now, has them in the wings lined up with the center of the ailerons.

Thanks for all the great ideas for improvements in this thread!!!


Glen
biggy boy is offline Find More Posts by biggy boy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2011, 06:44 PM
CNC Cutter
birdofplay's Avatar
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Dec 2005
8,291 Posts
where were the aileron servos located on the older HK Fox planes? It appears the revised version they are selling now, has them in the wings lined up with the center of the ailerons.

They were in the Root with a wire thru a tube to a single "Wiggle Hinge" .

I wonder IF I could purchase a set of teh NEW wings ONLY ?

Also I see that HK has restocked the motor
birdofplay is offline Find More Posts by birdofplay
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2011, 07:25 PM
prop wash
biggy boy's Avatar
North of Toronto in Ontario
Joined Dec 2002
1,173 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by birdofplay View Post
[U]They were in the Root with a wire thru a tube to a single "Wiggle Hinge" .
OH that's not to nice

Yes getting another set of the newer wings would be cool!!!

Hey Helitime!
Can you provide me with a link to the Cam Gear spinner/prop you got from HK?


Glen
biggy boy is offline Find More Posts by biggy boy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2011, 10:15 PM
Registered User
Pickering Ontario CANADA
Joined May 2010
756 Posts
Hey Glen
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=5565
This is the one I used but I do not have the stock motor in mine, this is for a 4Mil shaft. I don't know if you can put a collet type on the stock motor shaft as it is threaded.
Also I extended the nose 1/4" to avoid moving the motor mount, so a 47Mil spinner would be a better fit (I just measured the stock spinner :-) ). The prop I picked up at the LHS.

Bob New wings??? That mod is so easy and I have seen your work, your kidding right?

Mex The only other thing I can think of would be to use a standard external horn and run the control line to exit near the back of the fuse. The same way rudders are set up on most models. Probably the easy way out anyway.

Kerry
Helitime is offline Find More Posts by Helitime
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2011, 10:29 PM
CNC Cutter
birdofplay's Avatar
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Dec 2005
8,291 Posts
Well just a little kidding :-))) no doubt HK will want an arm and a leg + S&H from HK

I suppose I should just DO IT ! eh
birdofplay is offline Find More Posts by birdofplay
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 07:55 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
150 Posts
Hiya ya'll,
I've just ordered the Fox from HK(from the german warehouse, to be exact), without any servos or whatsoever. I just hope they fixed the aileron problems, I usually don't use the rudder. I hope the thing arrives tomorrow(yet, the status didn't change to shipped ). Still I wonder, what changes will I need to make exactly? Is the motor + prop + esc good enough to climb with a decent rate(I'm not talking about 90 )?

Regards
jeanorwin is offline Find More Posts by jeanorwin
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 09:16 AM
prop wash
biggy boy's Avatar
North of Toronto in Ontario
Joined Dec 2002
1,173 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanorwin View Post
Hiya ya'll,
I've just ordered the Fox from HK(from the german warehouse, to be exact), without any servos or whatsoever. I just hope they fixed the aileron problems, I usually don't use the rudder. I hope the thing arrives tomorrow(yet, the status didn't change to shipped ). Still I wonder, what changes will I need to make exactly? Is the motor + prop + esc good enough to climb with a decent rate(I'm not talking about 90 )?

Regards
Welcome jeanorwin!!!

I'm in the same boat, ordered my Fox more then 30 hours ago and the statues still shows as not shipped. They showed more then ten in stock.

Read through the entire thread and you should find your answers.

Glen
biggy boy is offline Find More Posts by biggy boy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 09:44 AM
prop wash
biggy boy's Avatar
North of Toronto in Ontario
Joined Dec 2002
1,173 Posts
OH I just figured out why they haven't shipped the glider yet!!!

The glider is listed as "JIT"

JIT-item: These products are stored in our second, larger warehouse and take 3-5 days to be dispatched. The entire order will be dispatched at 1 time.

Maybe your glider is A JIT item too in the German warehouse.



Glen
biggy boy is offline Find More Posts by biggy boy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 10:18 AM
CNC Cutter
birdofplay's Avatar
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Dec 2005
8,291 Posts
I ordered some esc's a motor program card, connectors and a couple of those dsm2 rx's
ON the 7th of Jan - I STILL dont have it !
It took them a week just to ship it. So it left HK the 15th. ?????

They were bad at 1st then they got much better - Quick even for a while
but lately they act like they just dont care any more.

I still have a TUB FULL of IC motors and a closet full of balsa .
birdofplay is offline Find More Posts by birdofplay
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2011, 10:52 AM
Registered User
Pickering Ontario CANADA
Joined May 2010
756 Posts
HI again and welcome to the new guys.
HK shipping: I use ems express and received my last order exactly 1 week later, I have also had a JIT item and it took 10 days (ordered>delivered).
RE rudder problems: I wonder if it would be easier for those who don't want to mod. to just unplug the rudder and physically lock it straight. Lots of models fly ail/ele only and ground steering is not an issue. Not the BEST answer but it should be flyable.
P.S. the stock motor/esc/prop are good as is (Jeanorwin:upgrade later if you think it needs it.)

Kerry
Helitime is offline Find More Posts by Helitime
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-Review FOX ST-Model /Kyosho /Hype /Ripmax 1.8m /71" EPO PnP/RTF BL/ Glider McMoron Electric Sailplanes 417 Aug 18, 2013 05:55 AM
New Product HobbyKing Minimoa 2mtr R/C Glider EPO w/ Motor, ESC, Servos Plug-n-Fly Bowerz Electric Sailplanes 3 Aug 28, 2011 01:28 PM
Discussion HobbyKing 3D 30" EPO Yak 54 Bowerz 3D Foamies 39 May 06, 2011 11:39 PM
Sold WindRider Fox EPP Glider $60 + Shipping ShoGinn Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 1 Aug 23, 2010 09:21 PM
Discussion St model fox glider Staudacher600 Electric Sailplanes 2 Aug 04, 2010 10:42 PM