HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 16, 2002, 12:51 AM
Joined Jul 2002
6 Posts
Eco 8, Piccolo, Hornet... what to choose?

I am a total newb to the art of flying r/c helicopters. At first I set my sights on a gas pwoered Century Hawk, only to discover the intensive labor and resources needed to learn and maintain the machine. I knew that my small knowledge of tools would never allow me to find all the necessary parts and still be able to put it together properly. Without any local guidance from which I could figure out this burden, I turned away from the subject unnhapilly.

This is when I happened uppon the electrics. At first I was skeptical of how much less power an electric would have as opposed to a gas and how long it would be able to fly. I was shockingly pleased to see that the cost of an electric as opposed to a gas was much less, when the extra parts to maintain and build a gas are considered. So now I am researching all I can about electric helicopters. Searching numerous web sites and these message boards for tips and suggestion about the variouse helis that seem to be best. I have centered around three. The Eco 8, the Piccolo, and the hornet. It seems the eco 8 has a more long time benefit and I hope to learn the advanced skills that this heli offers. I am windering if anyone can help me to as the differences between these helicopters, pros and cons for a begginer that has little knowledge of this hobbie. My building skills are some what limited but I am willing to learn. Collective pitch, blade balancing and terms are new and confusing to me. ANy web sites, tips or recommendations would be a tremendous help.
newbflyer1 is offline Find More Posts by newbflyer1
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 16, 2002, 09:37 AM
GA USA
Joined Feb 2002
92 Posts
The Hornet and Piccolo are micro indoor heli's. They are not the easiest heli's to fly but if you really want ot fly indoors either can be a good choice.