SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 09, 2009, 06:33 PM
Joined Sep 2009
61 Posts
Discussion
Blade 400 question.

I have a cx2 and I want to move up a step. Should I get a blade 400 or something easier to fly before that?
xxxvizard is offline Find More Posts by xxxvizard
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 09, 2009, 11:23 PM
Seatac
Joined Sep 2009
7 Posts
xxxvizard

I am new to this (2 months flying). I started of with a CX2 and got bored with it. It is a cool Heli and I still have it, but I wanted to be able to fly outside and I knew that at some point I was going to want to get into a larger Heli. Like many people I don't have deep pockets so cost was something I was considering. I was considering a Trex 450, Belt CP2, or Blade 400.

I found a new blade 400 RTF with the DX6i on craiglslist for $300. The decision was made for me at that price!

Out of the box it was very hard to fly and very intimidating to me. It is very sensitive to stick input and I crashed it in my first 15 seconds of hovering.

Someone took the time to help me put the thing back together. The person also set the radio up for me (DX6i). It made a HUGE difference WOW I love this thing. After making some changes to the radio programming it is a new helicopter, easy to control, and not so scary to fly.

Here are some things I like about the Blade 400
#1 I can get parts at my LHS (if I need them NOW)
#2 I could not find a better RTF heli package (for what I paid)
#3 Tons of parts on Ebay (cost less than LHS)
#4 The radio that comes with it is nice (i can use it with my CX2 and MSR)
#5 It's not to hard to work on (once you do it a couple times LOL)
#6 lots of good tips and info online!
#7 Flight time per battery is not to bad
#8 I feel like I won't outgrow the Heli right away

Here are some things that I do not like about it:
#1 Servos gears break way to easy
#2 Landing skids are week
#3 Feather shaft bends easy
#4 Main shaft bends easy