SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 24, 2004, 03:46 PM
Rutland, UK
Joined Jan 2004
486 Posts
newbie electric fly recommendations

Hi All,

I'm new to the world of electrics having flown glo models for several years.

I'd really like to build an electric model, but have a few parameters..

1) My radio gear is standard size, to sample this area, I didn't want to go micro at first.

2) I'd like to use Li-po's, flight duration is quite high on my priority list, I'd like 10-15mins at least?

3) I'd like a fairly aerobatic plane (maybe even 3D), but would like something quite small and to be able to fly in smallish spaces.

4) Budget isn't particularly big (same old story...), say 100ish including batts, motor ESC & charger.

5) I would be quite interested in building from plans if I can find the right model.

I've considered several including GWS Pico Slow Stik, Cobra EPP, PIGI 3D & Fast Freddy (from plan). However I'm not sure of a good motor/battery setup.

Many thanks,

Paul
pl1974 is offline Find More Posts by pl1974
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 24, 2004, 03:50 PM
Lookin' Good. Real Good.
London, Canada
Joined Aug 2002
3,979 Posts
I don't think your going to be able to fly many planes with standard gear, your going to have to get some mini's for Eflight.

But you can use std servos on a Slow Stick(The big one), and li pos for just a little more than stock wait. The SS won't hover or 3D though.
larsy87 is offline Find More Posts by larsy87
Old Jan 24, 2004, 04:14 PM
Rutland, UK
Joined Jan 2004
486 Posts
OK, so if I go for minis/micros what planes can anyone recommend?

Is there an archive of plans anywhere?
Old Jan 24, 2004, 05:05 PM
Hooked On Flying!!!
South Lake Tahoe, CA.
Joined May 2003
1,691 Posts
You say your a newbie to electric flight but what kind of actual flying experience do you have? Some of the models of interest you listed would be to much plane for a beginner pilot.
HAPPY FLYING!!!