HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 17, 2014, 05:32 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,128 Posts
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=513

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icero View Post
Is there a post about floating the DC side on a dell 2950 power supply? Or for that matter, one for which pins to short?
jj604 is offline Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 17, 2014, 06:14 PM
buy, crash, save...
United States, MS
Joined Feb 2013
188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj604 View Post
thank you. Now does anyone have a dc floating guide?

Here is one more general question about this floating stuff: Is it ok to DC float both units in a 24v setup and to float the dc if you are just using a single unit at 12v?

thanks
Icero is online now Find More Posts by Icero
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2014, 11:05 AM
Frankenstein recycled packs
rampman's Avatar
USA, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Jan 2006
8,703 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icero View Post
....
Here is one more general question about this floating stuff: Is it ok to DC float both units in a 24v setup and to float the dc if you are just using a single unit at 12v?

thanks
No.
DC ground is there for your safety as well as the supplies.
When we float DC ground on the high side we still use it, the low side (12V side) is still grounded. The cases are, at least mine are, bolted together or touching and the ground from 12V carries through to the 24V side.

Rick
rampman is offline Find More Posts by rampman
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2014, 12:26 PM
buy, crash, save...
United States, MS
Joined Feb 2013
188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rampman View Post
No.
DC ground is there for your safety as well as the supplies.
When we float DC ground on the high side we still use it, the low side (12V side) is still grounded. The cases are, at least mine are, bolted together or touching and the ground from 12V carries through to the 24V side.

Rick
thank you
Icero is online now Find More Posts by Icero
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2014, 11:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
1 Posts
Hi,
I found the correct Pinout for the IBM X3550 Server PSUs. Currently I only have a third party one, it's the Artesyn 7001134. The user Stanley posted a pinout (http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=2135), but it is wrong.

I opened the PSU and checked the connections from the header to the Microcontroller. The pin that Stanley shrotened to ground (PIN9) is the +5V Connection of the Microcontroller so the PSU could be damaged (but wasn't so far for me). The correct pin to shorten to ground is PIN18 as it can be seen in the attached picture. This way the AC OK and DC OK lights are also working correctly.

Ralph
ralph33 is offline Find More Posts by ralph33
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 11:09 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
11 Posts
aa23920l

Quote:
Originally Posted by richardvaio1 View Post
ibm blade Asec model: AA23920L - 2.880w

Managed to mod the circuit to allow voltage adjustment from 10v - 15.7volts

I have it set at 14.40v nicely

I have two straped together to increase current, each is 236amps


kind regards
please post the info for more mod of the voltage
shadygrady is offline Find More Posts by shadygrady
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2014, 06:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2014
1 Posts
HP DPS-1200FB Voltage Adjustment

I would like to get the voltage up to 13.8 vdc. Can that be done ??

Anyone have a schematic for this supply ?

Thanks,

rs
w1ksz is offline Find More Posts by w1ksz
Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:12 PM
Registered User
k2roo's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined May 2013
448 Posts
HP DL580 Proliant 1300w

Hi all,

I have taken on this project to save some coin, however I need a little assistance. I have read through this forum a little but I am unsure if I am able to connect the power leads in the format I have chosen.

I have 1 set of leads powering a PL8 and the second set will be connected to a banana plug board on the outside of the case. Could somebody please tell me if my format is acceptable and correct? I also have a SPDT I will be connecting with a servo extension lead, I know the correct pins to attach it to on the proliant but I am unsure what color wire to connect to which pin on the switch.

Any help would be appreciated
k2roo is online now Find More Posts by k2roo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 08:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 12:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 04:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 02:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 02, 2002 11:31 PM