Old Mar 07, 2011, 01:26 PM
Unregistered User
The Netherlands
Joined Jul 2010
498 Posts
Discussion
How are spoilers normally setup?: on a switch or on a stick/slider

Hi,

I'm fairly new to model soaring and completely new to flying gliders with spoilers.
So how are spoilers set up normally: on a stick (i.e. can be opened in any position) or on a switch (i.e. only closed or fully open)?

This is my glider, an Art Hobby Thermik RES, that I built spoilers into:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1401815

I also noticed that the glider seems to pitch down using spoilers so I also wonder what's the approximate percentage of up elevator that others normally mix in, if any.

B.t.w., I just touched 1500ft today on my first thermal flight with it.
cmanley_nl is offline Find More Posts by cmanley_nl
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 07, 2011, 02:05 PM
Chandler, Az.
Joined Mar 2008
232 Posts
cmanly_nl:

I'm far from an expert, but I use either for spoilers, whichever is easier or more convenient. You will find that spoilers are a digital control so a switch works just fine. The pitching of the plane is more a function of the wing losing lift, I don't correct for it .

Congratullations on a good flight, ane many more in your future.

Bob
Sweet-ole-Bob is offline Find More Posts by Sweet-ole-Bob
Old Mar 07, 2011, 04:21 PM
Unrepentant Paragon addict
United States, OK, Moore
Joined Jan 2006
2,589 Posts
Most people I know, and myself included, put the spoiler control on the left stick, up & down, which in a power airplane would be the throttle. My personal preference is stick up for spoilers down, and vice-versa.