Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 01, 2007, 03:24 PM
Joined Dec 2006
45 Posts
Discussion
Liberty 182 from Black Horse

Hi. I'm a complete newby but thinking about the Liberty 182 as my first plane. I want to go electric, have had some instruction and would fly it under instruction 'till I can solo. In fact my instructor says it looks good. Anyone got one? Any good? Forums seem short of discussion on this one. Thanks for all input
tony lechauve is offline Find More Posts by tony lechauve
Last edited by tony lechauve; Aug 05, 2007 at 08:31 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 24, 2007, 08:25 AM
Fly a LiL' Lower Will Ya!
North Central Florida
Joined Sep 2004
4,811 Posts
Tony,

Sorry no one got back to you on this. Most times on this forum discussions "take off" much quicker. And RCG is a good resource for RC flight.

About the Liberty 182. I have not yet flown the 182, but have flown it's smaller brother, the Liberty EP and I would have to say if the 182 is anything like the EP it is just a brilliant model.

The EP flys beautifully. Handles wind super well. Floats forever with the power off and lands like a cloud: super smooth and gentle. I think it makes and excellent trainer and have suggested it to a few guys who have tried it and agree. The only thing I did not like about it was the roll rate, but may have been the way the guy had the ailerons set up.

That said, if the 182 has those characteristics, I think it would be great. And I think with the larger wing span, extra wing area and slightly more weight, this would make it all the more trainer like. It should be more wind stable and very nice to fly. In fact, I have been debating buying one for the past few days and think I may take the plunge. I have all the electronics I would need, just need the plane. And while I really dont "Need" a trainer, I like it and would want one for my hanger for several reasons: