HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 05, 2014, 09:47 PM
Trees Are Stupid
United States, KY, Louisville
Joined Sep 2013
3,930 Posts
Help!
Trying to build this Tristania/Tech one

It's called a HK Tristania but its sold under other brands.

I got the airframe built by watching a youtube video, but the 3 part series left me high and dry when it didn't show the power system assembly. The HK directions are a joke and this is my first build like this.

I have 2 sets of servos...a pair of 9 gram and a pair of 5 gram. Don't know which is for the ailerons and which is the rudder and elevator.

Also, so far I found the esc and motor don't have any connectors whatsoever and there seems to be none in the kit. Is this something that should be there attached or at least included? OR is this normal HK B.S. and everybody that gets one has to buy these things?

Until i get the connectors, I can't hook up the servo's to center them so I can't put the control arms on them...can't mount them...etc...

So far this assembly has been a much bigger P.I.T.A. than the biggest, most complex scale foam warbirds I have ever assembled....which is 13 so far.

Any help or advice appreciated.
BeavisUSMC is offline Find More Posts by BeavisUSMC
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 06, 2014, 01:57 AM
I ♥ OpenTX
Australia, New South Wales, Sydney
Joined Jan 2011
2,666 Posts
That's par for the course with almost all profile foamies, irrespective of the price. They require a construction skillset which belies their apparent simplicity. All you really get is some flat foam cut out to resemble a plane. Pretty much everything from there requires initiative and personal interpretation.

I don't own a Tristania, but I'll try to answer your questions based on similar planes...

The two 5g servos are meant for the rudder and elevator. 6g would be nicer at that size, but 5g will do.