HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 16, 2014, 06:29 PM
United States, PA, Wilkes-Barre
Joined May 2013
152 Posts
Build Log
Stevens Aeromodel FullHouse 500 Balsa Kit

This will be a build thread for the Stevens Aeromodel FullHouse 500 balsa kit.

I usually don’t write build threads but wanted to share my joy with this kit. I have been building balsa models since my control line days back around 1973. I have built more kits over the years than I can remember, control line, static, RC, gliders, you name it. I am also a full scale pilot. That being said, you might wonder why I would choose to build a trainer? I was considering several StevensAero kits since recently completing my Axis480. I was so impressed with the Axis kit that I wanted to try another. One look at the instruction booklet for the FullHouse500 was all it took. The design struck me as innovative, different and clever, especially the fuselage. I also want to try a float plane because I have never had one before. One other thing that I like about both of these kits is the design of the landing gear. I'm not a fan of rubber bands but this idea is truly unique. Hard landings will most likely only transmit a very small amount of stress to the airframe.

There is already another build thread for this model, and there is also a detailed instruction manual freely available for download so I’m not going to give a blow by blow. This will be more of a “boatload of pictures” type of build thread with me commenting along the way. I’m hoping that the pictures might help others who are building it eliminate any potential confusion and to promote this fine model. There are never enough pictures to look at when you are considering buying a kit.