HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 24, 2013, 04:26 PM
let's FLY!
United States, VT, Castleton
Joined Dec 2007
1,878 Posts
Build Log
SAL-Plank project

I've just started a new scratch-built project, and there has been some interest on the Wisel thread, so I guess I'll do a little build thread. I'm sure I'll need some advice along the way; your comments and suggestions are welcomed

It started out with the idea that I'd build a 2-piece Wisel Light for hiking or mt. biking in to check out the slopes around here (any slopes around here require a trek to get to....that's why I don't do all that much sloping near home.) Then I figured I wanted to be able to side-arm launch it, because at some slopes I fly, I have to fly from the bottom. So it needs a longer tail. Longer tail means weight will be needed forward so it needs a nose. I started playing with the design, and now it doesn't look much like a Wisel Light anymore. I've got a bad habit of over-complicating things.

So this is what I've got: I'm going with the PW-98 mod. airfoil because to my uneducated eye it looks like a liftier version of the PW-51. I've reversed the Wisel wing planform so it's less swept, which helps move some weight forward. Span is 48" (1.2m), root is 13" (33cm), tip is 7" (18cm). Ailerons are 20% at the root, 25% at the tip. The fuse is, from the side, a scaled-up image of the airfoil. And I gave her a stylized version of an Alula tail, which I think looks pretty cool

For the 2-piece wing I'm going with what some of the light Le Fish builds have done: airfoil-shaped recesses in the sides of the fuse to position the wings, and a joiner rod that will run through the fuse and into the carbon tube spar in the wing halves. Wing retention on this first one will be with magnets. I know that won't hold for a side-arm launch; If she flies well I'll have to put some thought into something more secure.