HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 20, 2013, 09:39 AM
United States, NJ, Phillipsburg
Joined Mar 2012
60 Posts
Discussion
Lipo charge time

I'm totally new to electric. I have the Great planes Carl Goldberg EP. I had everything hooked up and ran the motor holding the plane in my hand (won't do that again). It ran for 6 minutes but it took 75 minutes to recharge the 3S1350mAh 11.1v lipo. I also noticed one cell was way out of balance when starting the charger. Is this normal?
I'm thinking if it takes this long to charge a spent pack I need a cpl more packs.

Tom
iflircaircraft is offline Find More Posts by iflircaircraft
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 20, 2013, 09:50 AM
United States, NE, Kearney
Joined Dec 2011
2,275 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by iflircaircraft View Post
I'm totally new to electric. I have the Great planes Carl Goldberg EP. I had everything hooked up and ran the motor holding the plane in my hand (won't do that again). It ran for 6 minutes but it took 75 minutes to recharge the 3S1350mAh 11.1v lipo. I also noticed one cell was way out of balance when starting the charger. Is this normal?
I'm thinking if it takes this long to charge a spent pack I need a cpl more packs.

Tom
You want to treat new Lipo packs in the following way.
Charge them at about .8 of their normal charging rate. In the case of your 1350 pack, charge it around 1 to 1.1 amps.

Discharging, or using new Lipo packs... you want to "harden" them by only discharging them to about 50% of their capacity. If you have a watt-meter showing amps, you can monitor the consumption rate.
If you don't have a watt-meter yet, pay close attention to how much the charger puts back into your Lipo. In this case, you want to put back around 700 mah to reach full charge.