SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 18, 2013, 04:47 AM
Registered User
Australia, SA, Holden Hill
Joined Feb 2013
100 Posts
Help!
Cant work out what is wrong!- It's Now Alive :)

quad rotor (0 min 34 sec)
OK so I have built my quad rotor programmed all of the Ecs's everything seemed fine gave it a quick test seemed OK and now the motors wont spin up properly please take a look at the video to see what I mean.
nafan08 is offline Find More Posts by nafan08
Last edited by nafan08; Mar 11, 2013 at 07:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 18, 2013, 06:05 AM
Registered User
JWinNewPhila's Avatar
United States, OH, New Philadelphia
Joined Jul 2012
148 Posts
Did you do a throttle calibration with the ESC's?
JWinNewPhila is online now Find More Posts by JWinNewPhila
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 06:11 AM
Registered User
Australia, SA, Holden Hill
Joined Feb 2013
100 Posts
Ha no maybe that is the issue would you do each on their own? or using the kk2?
nafan08 is offline Find More Posts by nafan08
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 07:01 AM
Registered User
Australia, SA, Holden Hill
Joined Feb 2013
100 Posts
OK so changed some settings on the motor that now is working could someone tell me if it looks correct.



motor test (0 min 30 sec)
nafan08 is offline Find More Posts by nafan08
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 07:44 AM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
United States, FL, Miami
Joined Jul 2012
2,193 Posts
Wrong battery type. You need to look up the best setting for Multirotors. It's somewhere around here.
TheFernMan is offline Find More Posts by TheFernMan
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:30 AM
Registered User
Australia, SA, Holden Hill
Joined Feb 2013
100 Posts
I could not find anything on the ecs settings I changed the battery settings ill have to recharge my battery's but all 4 motors power up now but not in sync at the most i get 3 motors spinning at once ill do some more testing later on.

If anyone has some more advice that would also be great.
nafan08 is offline Find More Posts by nafan08
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:45 AM
Flying Monkey
heli-yeah's Avatar
Lexington, KY
Joined Aug 2010
324 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nafan08 View Post
OK so changed some settings on the motor that now is working could someone tell me if it looks correct.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFernMan View Post
Wrong battery type. You need to look up the best setting for Multirotors. It's somewhere around here.
Agreed!

Traditionally, with any multi-rotor you build, you will want to chose Ni-xx battery type.

This will disable the battery protection that causes the motors to shut down at low voltage. A shut down while in flight with a quad, will almost certainly cause a crash.

To protect your batteries, you will need to acquire a voltage alarm, or modify your KK2 board to detect the battery voltage, and signal you with the supplied buzzer.


motor test (0 min 30 sec)


As for this video, your motor is turning the wrong way!

The prop is mounted correctly, however you need to swap any two of the three wires coming from your Motor-to ESC to provide the proper rotation direction.
heli-yeah is offline Find More Posts by heli-yeah
Last edited by heli-yeah; Feb 18, 2013 at 08:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 08:58 AM
Registered User
Australia, SA, Holden Hill
Joined Feb 2013
100 Posts
I'm aware of the prop going the wrong way. I will have to setup the voltage alarm should be easy I hope
nafan08 is offline Find More Posts by nafan08
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:05 AM
Flying Monkey
heli-yeah's Avatar
Lexington, KY
Joined Aug 2010
324 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nafan08 View Post
I'm aware of the prop going the wrong way. I will have to setup the voltage alarm should be easy I hope
Are you familiar with how it is done?
heli-yeah is offline Find More Posts by heli-yeah
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:12 AM
Registered User
Australia, SA, Holden Hill
Joined Feb 2013
100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by heli-yeah View Post
Are you familiar with how it is done?
sort of as far as I know you solder a red wire to the dot on the kk2 next to the yellow chip/box thing.
Is that correct?
nafan08 is offline Find More Posts by nafan08
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:50 AM
Flying Monkey
heli-yeah's Avatar
Lexington, KY
Joined Aug 2010
324 Posts
Here is a video for reference (not mine).

KK2 Voltage Alarm Setup (7 min 21 sec)


NOTE:
You do not need to connect a ground wire as in the video, only the positive wire need be connected the the "hole" location shown. The board is already sufficiently grounded via the 4 ESC connections, so that step can be omitted.

Also, I realize you cannot see the menu/values on the board from his video, so here is a brief explanation of the set-up. Work your way to the voltage alarm menu, and set the voltage to a three number value (eg. 110 for 11v, 111 for 11.1v 112 for 11.2v and so on). Hope this helps!

I have soldered a header pin in the hole (like the other pins sticking up on the board), and use a jumper wire from the FC to the battery to create a removable solution.
heli-yeah is offline Find More Posts by heli-yeah
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:52 AM
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
United States, VA, Fairfax
Joined Dec 2012
1,249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nafan08 View Post
Ha no maybe that is the issue would you do each on their own? or using the kk2?
Do each ESC on their own without the KK2.

Make sure you use your full range of throttle when calibrating it. Follow your ESC manual.

Make sure all of your physical wire connections are good too.
v00d0o is online now Find More Posts by v00d0o
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 18, 2013, 10:00 AM
Registered User
Australia, SA, Holden Hill
Joined Feb 2013
100 Posts
Thanks guys will work on this in the morning as it is 1:30am for me now
nafan08 is offline Find More Posts by nafan08
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 11:13 AM
we dont NEED roads!
AcroFPV's Avatar
United States, CA, Rocklin
Joined Aug 2012
3,423 Posts
You have to do a Throttle Range Calibration so each ESC knows when to start and when to stop. Without doing it, you will continue to have these problems.

Read the manual of your ESC to find out how to accomplish this. You will not use the turnigy Programming card to do it... you use your transmitter, receiver.

!!REMOVE YOUR PROPS BEFORE YOU DO AN ESC CALIBRATION!!

I made this video using a KK2 board and Turnigy Plush 30A ESC's. So if you follow this, you should fix your ESC issues.
Calibrate ESC's using the KK2 Board (0 min 50 sec)
AcroFPV is offline Find More Posts by AcroFPV
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 12:29 PM
kad
Quad Crasher
kad's Avatar
United States, NY, Poughkeepsie
Joined May 2012
675 Posts
Brake: Off
Batt Type: Ni-xx
Cut Off Type: Soft
Cut off Voltage: Low (This mean Off when Batt Type is set to Ni-XX)
Start Mode: Normal
Timing: Middle (This will do for most motors. Watch setting to high, some motors may overheat (personal experience)
Music: Who cares?
Governor: Off


-K
kad is offline Find More Posts by kad
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Super CP wont take off after crash.. cant figure out whats wrong. brandontw 3D Electric Heli Flying 5 Feb 07, 2013 03:35 PM
Discussion What's wrong with this X-copter (video) dmcquinn Scratchbuilt Multirotors 10 Jan 05, 2013 09:36 PM
Discussion Cant Figure out what type of Yak this is - HELP! rhampton Fuel Plane Talk 13 Nov 21, 2009 11:21 AM
Help! Please help I cant figure out what`s wrong VirTus Electric Sailplanes 8 Jan 18, 2009 08:38 PM
Discussion Help!! I cant figure out whats going on. sirdirk007 Life, The Universe, and Politics 19 Aug 06, 2006 12:22 PM