HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 02, 2012, 08:17 PM
Big gov never Works
Skunk Water, Rhode Island
Joined Jul 2002
12,417 Posts
Discussion
Vintage Stunt Control line to RC/I.C. to electric, by Warbirdkits.com

I'm a dyed-in-the-wool scale modeler. But every once in a while, a non-scale design ruffles my feathers. Esp. if it takes me back to my early day's of modeling, when things seemed so simple.

The design is the well known VECO Squaw. Were still considering names for the new version. There have been notable RC conversions of control line models. One of them, the Top Flite Nobler. I converted one of these to RC in the mid 70's. Just before TF came out with the kit. The way these fly, they have to be the grandfather 3-D.

I built several of the VECO's. Squaw, Chief, Smoothie(my fav). Thet built much lighter than the Sterling CL models. The Ruffy being a fav. IIRC, I used the VECO .29 in my Squaw.

Tom Jacoby at Warbirdkits, is always doing interesting things. And, this is one of them. He redesigned it completely, and asked if I wanted one to thrash out. If there is enough interest, I'm sure he will finalize the kit for availability.
The scale is 1-1 as the original. 39" WS. I plan on using a Eflie Park 450 outrunner. Tom always gives me freedom to change things as I see fit. He designed it with a removable wing. Because the fuselage is small in cross section, I elected to make the wing permanent.

The ailerons use a servo on each. And I plane on locating the elev/rudder servos to the rear of the plane. There is some modification of parts, as supplied, needed. Tom, will make these changes as always. Plus the usual teething problems of a new kit.

But, as I'm posting and changing, at the same time, please bear with me.
So, I started it Sunday morn, and here's what I have so far.

Fuzz
St. Martin is offline Find More Posts by St. Martin
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 03, 2012, 09:47 AM
United States, WA, Bothell
Joined Apr 2011
77 Posts