HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 12, 2012, 11:17 AM
OFF TOPIC POSTER
Des Moines IA
Joined Dec 2005
4,828 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel Blink View Post
I think it's safer to the check before the model is in the air, Bob!
Ya Scott should have done that before he maidend his p-51.
Or his first and last flight with his first Radian.
eckace1 is offline Find More Posts by eckace1
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 12, 2012, 04:13 PM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,765 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colonel Blink View Post
I think it's safer to the check before the model is in the air, Bob!
And even when you think you got everything right ... :

Last Flight of Kevin's YAK-54 (1 min 29 sec)


This is hopefully my only "off-topic" reply - please try to stay on-topic.

There is a reason why beginner models are usually not made from wood anymore.

Jürgen
Jurgen Heilig is offline Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 05:40 PM
Hitec/Multiplex USA
MikeMayberry's Avatar
Poway, California, United States
Joined Sep 2000
4,200 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by eckace1 View Post
Mybe I'm doing it wrong but for me I push up on the tx and the plane goes down

I pull down on the stick and the plane goes up.
Oh man... that explains why I keep crashing so much!!! Ok... new method, up/down, down/up... got it!!!!

Mike.
MikeMayberry is offline Find More Posts by MikeMayberry
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2012, 08:30 PM
When pigs fly rc
rcrich's Avatar
USA, NY, Chester
Joined Apr 2008
2,493 Posts
What would you guys use as a connector so I can disconnect my lighting when I remove the wings. It is rbg lighting so it has 4 wires
Thanks
rcrich is offline Find More Posts by rcrich
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: flying penguin
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 06:09 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2009
147 Posts
2 simplest options:

1)go to nearest electronics shop and get male and female single row goldpin connector and some heat shrink tubes. Very light connector but no reverse polarity protection so double check when you plug in your lights.

2)go to nearest hobby shop and get green Multiplex connector. It has 6 pins, is keyed so no way to connect it wrong but much heavier than goldpin and harder to disconnect.
Verid is offline Find More Posts by Verid
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 07:47 PM
Nakelp
nakelp86's Avatar
United States, NJ, Union
Joined Sep 2004
6,794 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcrich View Post
What would you guys use as a connector so I can disconnect my lighting when I remove the wings. It is rbg lighting so it has 4 wires
Thanks
check here first:

http://www.hansenhobbies.com/products/connectors/

or here

http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo...9&productname=
nakelp86 is offline Find More Posts by nakelp86
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 09:17 AM
Registered User
United States, CO, Denver
Joined Apr 2012
52 Posts
The power system, servos, and Rx came in this week. This the first kit I've put together, so I assembled everything and bound the Tx to it to ensure it all worked together. This is my first experience w/ a brushless motor, those things are stealth quiet! Waiting on the Small Parts CNC Easy Star ii motor mount to arrive, and then its build time.
mwoneal is offline Find More Posts by mwoneal
Last edited by mwoneal; Jul 14, 2012 at 09:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 11:13 AM
Registered User
United States, WV, Calhoun
Joined Nov 2004
509 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwoneal View Post
The power system, servos, and Rx came in this week. This the first kit I've put together, so I assembled everything and bound the Tx to it to ensure it all worked together. This is my first experience w/ a brushless motor, those things are stealth quiet! Waiting on the Small Parts CNC Easy Star ii motor mount to arrive, and then its build time.
No ailerons?

What are the components of the various systems?
skyhawk1 is offline Find More Posts by skyhawk1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 11:55 AM
Registered User
Tom Eutsler's Avatar
Asheville,NC
Joined Jun 2002
834 Posts
Servos?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwoneal View Post
The power system, servos, and Rx came in this week. This the first kit I've put together, so I assembled everything and bound the Tx to it to ensure it all worked together. This is my first experience w/ a brushless motor, those things are stealth quiet! Waiting on the Small Parts CNC Easy Star ii motor mount to arrive, and then its build time.
Terry has some nice motor mounts :-) and ships them out PDQ

I don't see 4 servos ?? For sure ya need to have Ailerons - makes this plane much easier to fly with that small Rudder ... ...te
Tom Eutsler is offline Find More Posts by Tom Eutsler
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 12:41 PM
Registered User
United States, CO, Denver
Joined Apr 2012
52 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyhawk1 View Post
No ailerons?

What are the components of the various systems?
I did get 4 servos to setup the ailerons, the two in the photo are actually connected with the Y harness.

Radio - Spektrum DX4E and AR600
Prop - Stock
Motor - http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...0-Sport/Detail
ESC - http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...-22-Amp/Detail with programming card
Servos - http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...-dsh-55/Detail
Battery - http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...-30C-EZ/Detail

Mark
mwoneal is offline Find More Posts by mwoneal
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 08:17 PM
Nakelp
nakelp86's Avatar
United States, NJ, Union
Joined Sep 2004
6,794 Posts
Welcome every one to chip in to this thread:http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1687469

Jurgen,
could you post the link on the first page and chip in to it :-))
nakelp86 is offline Find More Posts by nakelp86
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 08:55 PM
Registered User
United States, WV, Calhoun
Joined Nov 2004
509 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwoneal View Post
I did get 4 servos to setup the ailerons, the two in the photo are actually connected with the Y harness.

Radio - Spektrum DX4E and AR600
Prop - Stock
Motor - http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...0-Sport/Detail
ESC - http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...-22-Amp/Detail with programming card
Servos - http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...-dsh-55/Detail
Battery - http://www.headsuprc.com/servlet/the...-30C-EZ/Detail

Mark
I am trying to understand why you need a special motor mount to use this motor on your EZ 2. What am I missing.

Thank you. Todd
skyhawk1 is offline Find More Posts by skyhawk1
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2012, 11:06 PM
Registered User
United States, CO, Denver
Joined Apr 2012
52 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyhawk1 View Post
I am trying to understand why you need a special motor mount to use this motor on your EZ 2. What am I missing.

Thank you. Todd
As it turns out, I don't need one. When I first pulled the c-clip off the Power-Up 400 and took the motor apart, there was only one groove on the shaft for the c-clip, meaning the shaft could only be configured for 'standard' forward facing mounting. I had already ordered the mount, and out of curiosity emailed Heads Up's customer service this morning to confirm the shaft was non-reversible. They said the stock Power Up 400 was not reversible, but that the shaft from their Fire Power 400, which does support reverse mounting for pusher installation, could be installed on the Power Up 400.

In any case, I received the mount, and it is extremely high quality. And it has 3 mounting positions allowing up to a 9 inch prop to be installed. Probably not necessary, but what are gadgets without options
mwoneal is offline Find More Posts by mwoneal
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2012, 04:37 PM
Registered User
Tom Eutsler's Avatar
Asheville,NC
Joined Jun 2002
834 Posts
Ez* ii

My Easy is done now

APC SPORT 6 X 4
GO BRUSHLESS 2505-2535
SMALLPARTSCNC Motor Mount
Magnets in Wing root
Carbon Rod in Elev for stiffness
Will Put Extreme tape on bottom of Fuse , for landing on grass
Added an Carbon Rod that slides inside supplied glass spar - that go further out in wing , for added stiffness ..

...............te
Tom Eutsler is offline Find More Posts by Tom Eutsler
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2012, 05:20 PM
Red Merle ALES
Curtis Suter's Avatar
United States, Mt, Helena
Joined Apr 2002
5,713 Posts
If this has been answered please accept my apologies for asking but I did a search and couldn't find the answer.

Does this power system still work for the Easy Star II?
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXPVF5&P=X

Thanks
Curtis
Montana
Curtis Suter is online now Find More Posts by Curtis Suter
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Multiplex Easy Star james mack Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 2 Oct 17, 2011 08:33 AM
Discussion Multiplex EASY STAR rickhensley Electric Sailplanes 92 Oct 13, 2011 03:43 PM
Sold Receiver Ready Brushless Multiplex Easy Star with Lipo, Pen Cam, & More! eagleswings Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 10 Jul 12, 2011 04:28 PM
For Sale Easy Star Multiplex Brushless Motor Power Pack techcapsule Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Jul 11, 2011 04:11 PM