New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 11, 2015, 11:10 AM
Find More Posts by Econoline
United States, CA, Ventura
Joined Nov 2007
233 Posts
Question
what adhesive for EPP to CF?

I'm pretty new to foam construction. I want to lay a 5mm x 1m carbon fiber tube into an EPP wing for strength. Notching the EPP is no problem with a Dremel router, but I'm unsure what glue to use so I have enough working time to get the tube in place and weights put on the wing, probably need 2 minutes.

I have Foam-Tac, 5 & 30 minute epoxy, hot glue, Goop, CA, etc. I only get one shot at this, so appreciate any advice. Tnx.
Econoline is offline Find More Posts by Econoline
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 11, 2015, 12:42 PM
Find More Posts by mmattock
Canada, AB, Airdrie
Joined Oct 2014
437 Posts
I use Gorilla Glue White for that. Without adding any moisture it will foam completely through a piece of 9mm EPP. I put wax paper under the joint and over top of the open side of the groove with weights on top to stop the foaming action from coming up out into free space. To wet the carbon rod out I put some glue onto a square of wax paper, then fold it in half across the glue puddle and slide the rod through the fold in the paper. Some guys add a bit of moisture to the glue to get it foaming before wetting the rod but it foams so much for me without adding moisture (and I live in a near-desert area) that I have never thought I needed more foaming action.

Mark
mmattock is offline Find More Posts by mmattock
Old Jul 11, 2015, 01:02 PM
Find More Posts by tonystro
TonyS
United States, AR
Joined May 2010
635 Posts
Based on the glues you mention having on hand, I would use the 30-min epoxy and take a beverage break after I had the weights in place.

TonyS
tonystro is online now Find More Posts by tonystro
Old Jul 11, 2015, 06:24 PM
Joined Nov 2007
233 Posts
Thanks Mark & Tony.

I didn't consider the Gorilla Glue White, but I'll do a sample run with that and 30m epoxy. And thanks again for the tips!