Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Oct 02, 2007, 10:52 PM
I did it...
Morganton, NC
Joined Jun 2005
756 Posts
Discussion
Blade 400 or TRex?

Hey guys, have a ? Iím interested in getting into mini class heli's and I'm trying to decide on which one of these birds to get. Blade 400 or TRex. Any suggestions? I've been flying gas heli's for many years and my skills with one are very good (3D'n for a while now). Thanks in advance.
av8ersteve is offline Find More Posts by av8ersteve
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 02, 2007, 11:08 PM
McKinney, TX
Joined May 2007
1,602 Posts
If you can afford it, go for the T-Rex. It has a proven track record. The Blade 400 is still an unknown.
TheBum is online now Find More Posts by TheBum
Old Oct 02, 2007, 11:09 PM
Team Mulikow
Manila, Philippines
Joined Oct 2006
9,564 Posts
I'm biased with metal heads. But I believe that there is little to go by in telling how the Blade 400 and DX6i stack up.
Gino CP is offline Find More Posts by Gino CP
Old Oct 02, 2007, 11:42 PM
Joined Dec 2006
1,019 Posts
The Trex has the great advantage actually being available. No one on these forums has even tried a Blade 400 that I know of. From what I can tell from the specs though, even E-Flite would probably agree that the Blade 400 is intended for beginner and intermediate fliers. If you already have years of experience flying helis, I don't think an RTF really makes sense. The 400 looks to come with better components than most RTFs, but it's still going to be low end compared to a typical Trex setup with good electronics. I would also think a Trex SE or similar heli from other manufacturers will probably be closer to the quality that you're used to in your gas helis.
bilboa is offline Find More Posts by bilboa
Old Oct 03, 2007, 12:44 AM
Christchurch, New Zealand
Joined Jun 2006
6,794 Posts
T-Rex, certainly. More options for winding it up to full 3D.