HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 04, 2012, 02:50 PM
OCD RC Freak
United States, CA, Riverside
Joined Aug 2011
213 Posts
Help!
Hobby king HK450 V2 electronics help

Hey everyone! I love building RC stuff. I just bought my first heli kit from hobby king the HK450 V2. I know it's a popular one so I was hoping to get some ideas about electronics setups. I've never built one before but am very familiar with rc planes. I will eventually want to do Mild 3d stuff but not for a while and my budget is somewhat limited so some recommended power setups would be great. I'm in no hurry so stuff from HK is what I was mainly looking at. Thanks in advance for your help!

---Chuck
chuckman49 is offline Find More Posts by chuckman49
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 04, 2012, 06:31 PM
Committed heli addict...
Joined Jan 2010
675 Posts
Basic 450 Heli Power Setup:

1800-2500mAh 3S lipo(s) with a min. 20C rating

11-13 T pinion for the motor and depending on the hs you want

3500-4400kv motor rated for 3S (4400 with 13T for strong 3D, 3500ish for sport)

25-50A esc with an internal sbec (50A for strong 3D 25-30ish for sport)

3x cyclic servos, micro only, you can save a little using analog or use digital for more precision, pick torque over speed and buy ones you can afford to replace or repair

1x tail servo, micro or mini, you can save here by using the same servos as on the cyclic since you plan to do sport and basic flight, but for 3D you will want a servo that is meant for the tail, they have very fast response and cost more

1x gyro, you don't really want to go cheap here, some pilots have had luck with $50 servos, but you would better off with at least a futaba gy401 or maybe a spartan quark, since they are fairly close in price, with the spartan being much better for future proofing your eventual needs
phoenixheli is offline Find More Posts by phoenixheli
Old Oct 05, 2012, 10:52 AM
OCD RC Freak
Joined Aug 2011
213 Posts