SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 29, 2013, 02:28 PM
Cheese eating monkey.
France, Bretagne, Rennes
Joined Jul 2011
237 Posts
Discussion
BBCC4 - A 1/12 Pou du ciel (Flying flea) - Panoramix

I am going to have a try at the BBCC2 and this is the thread to document my build.

Since being fascinated by one as a kid, I always liked the "pou du ciel". This is my first attempt at building a plane out of Balsa and I've only built one foamy. So I am right at the deep end!

I found this plans : http://outerzone.co.uk/plan_details.asp?ID=431 which I can nearly understand.

Controls
The incidence of the front wing needs to be controlled for pitch, at the moment I am thinking of a bellcrank as below, the rudder is traditional.

Covering
Not being experienced, I want to go the easy way, and the moment Aerolite / so-lite seems to be the easy way.

I need to be doing more thinking, the polyhedral and the structure of the body of the plane is still not clear to me...

I also need to find info about the COG which isn't on the drawings.

Expect a lot of questions...
Panoramix is online now Find More Posts by Panoramix
Last edited by Panoramix; Mar 06, 2014 at 04:18 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 30, 2013, 07:04 AM
Norfolk, England
Joined Sep 2001
7,644 Posts
Be wary of that tilting forward wing control. They banned the original because of accidents caused by it. What was happening was that the control could be used to put the aircraft into a dive, but not get enough incidence to get out of the dive again. IIRC, and no doubt someone will comment if I'm wrong, they moved the control to the rear wing to solve the problem.

Pete
PETERRAKE is online now Find More Posts by PETERRAKE
Old Mar 30, 2013, 08:10 AM
United States, IN, Hammond
Joined Jan 2013
541 Posts