Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Mar 06, 2006, 09:35 PM
Joined Mar 2004
271 Posts
Discussion
Alternative brushless motor type???

Hi:

This is the first time I post on the Motor design forum, been tinkering with the idea of a brushless motor that can be driven by a brushed ESC (does not require commutation) and will be a compromise of the advantages of the out-runners and the advantages of the in-runners as well, yet I've been somewhat reluctant of posting the idea, I've been searching the web for similar designs, have even tried the US patent office and haven't found anything similar to it yet, still not have a working prototype so it's still theory(want to clarify I'm no engineer at all, but understand the basics of electric motors, just have a simple idea of "what if?"), expect to have a technology demostrator in a few weeks though. Has anyone done anything similar???, please share so I do not spend my time in something that has already been done. On the other hand if it hasn't, and it works, maybe consider to file for a patent
Alexis_Ruiz is offline Find More Posts by Alexis_Ruiz
Last edited by Alexis_Ruiz; Mar 06, 2006 at 09:40 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 07, 2006, 10:50 AM
Joined Aug 2004
734 Posts
Never heard of anythinf similar to that. I'm a little dubious but I'm also still a long way from knowing everything so I'm intrigued.

If you get something that works I'd talk to the US patent office before posting anything on line.

Latrans
latrans is offline Find More Posts by latrans
Old Mar 07, 2006, 02:44 PM
Creations Aberration
United States, OR, Newport
Joined Jan 2004
609 Posts
& even with a patent it's hard to get any industry people interested.

Recieved two patents last year for a new motor type & hardly any nibbles. So I'm plugging along refining my design trying to get some production models out so I might sell them.
By the way anyone know where I can find some -325 mesh Permalloy powder, in small quantities?