HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 09, 2013, 09:46 AM
Minneapolis
Joined Jun 2002
1,130 Posts
Question
How to deal with a LOT of balsa

I was a scratch builder for many years. I had a friend at that time, and we motivated each other and built many planes and gliders over the years. He even designed a couple that we built and flew with great success.

I have all this balsa, much much is Sig Contest grade balsa, none is junk, lots of 48 inch, but more 36 inch. Also some spruce stock for special stuff, perfect and clear planed to 1/2", 3/8th and 1/4". Great for bandsaw ripping for spars etc.

I am in need of selling the entire stock of balsa and do not have the faintest of how to go about doing it. Shipping would be a real headache because of the 4 foot stuff and special boxing to protect it.

Does anyone have any suggestions to help me out?

Attached are some shots I took just a few mins ago.

Gene
uniquewon is offline Find More Posts by uniquewon
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 09, 2013, 09:50 AM
Minneapolis
Joined Jun 2002
1,130 Posts
some more shotst

last pictures.

The last picture is of a variant of the friend designed plane I built but never finished. It's a design for a 40FS engine on rubber mounts, the plane is complete other than covered and also includes a matching set of floats. I will be selling this plane also to some lucky person.

Would be nice for some sort of in Minnesota sale, local pickup.

Thanks,

Gene
Old Jun 09, 2013, 11:05 AM
Never stop being a kid.
United States, CO, Manitou Springs
Joined Jan 2012
543 Posts
It's not a targeted audience, but when I want to sell stuff for local pick-up, I use Craigslist. You should find a local buyer pretty easily in a large metro area like the Twin Cities. Or contact local RC clubs.
BrundleFlyBy is offline Find More Posts by BrundleFlyBy
Old Jun 09, 2013, 11:41 AM
Promoting Model Aviation...
United States, CA, Tehachapi
Joined Nov 2005
24,648 Posts