HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 14, 2011, 08:25 PM
United States, TN, Chattanooga
Joined Aug 2011
130 Posts
Question
Best glue for HK Bixler

I recently received a PNP hobbyking bixler. The fuselage was split in two (not sure if they usually come like this or not). As I'm still a beginner at this stuff I don't know what type of glue would be the best and what techniques to use when glueing the fuse together.

Any suggestions and help would be appreciated. Thanks!
sporez is offline Find More Posts by sporez
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 14, 2011, 08:40 PM
Meh close enough.
United States, TX, Longview
Joined Dec 2010
558 Posts
First of all:
-Does the fuselage look as if it was originally like that (i.e. as in a kit) or does it look like it was split accidentally (i.e. factory mistake or during shipping)?

Presuming that the Bixler is made of EPO (Elapor) foam, I would recommend you UHU Por. I, not living in America, don't know much about the famous Gorilla Glue. UHU Por settles somewhat slowly, but its eventual bond strength is great. Strictly speaking, CA (commonly known as "Superglue") would work on EPO without melting it, but would not be the best option in such a case like this.
minivation is offline Find More Posts by minivation
Old Oct 14, 2011, 09:05 PM
Joined Aug 2011
130 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by minivation View Post
First of all:
-Does the fuselage look as if it was originally like that (i.e. as in a kit) or does it look like it was split accidentally (i.e. factory mistake or during shipping)?

Presuming that the Bixler is made of EPO (Elapor) foam, I would recommend you UHU Por. I, not living in America, don't know much about the famous Gorilla Glue. UHU Por settles somewhat slowly, but its eventual bond strength is great. Strictly speaking, CA (commonly known as "Superglue") would work on EPO without melting it, but would not be the best option in such a case like this.