HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 12, 2009, 10:31 PM
Live Like u Were Dyin
Seattle
Joined Dec 2009
24 Posts
Discussion
Santa got me a Blade mSR

I'm a newbie but at 53, I'm willing to take the time to learn, I've read all the forums and I hope to have a successful intro into piloting me new Heli. I realize that much research and reading/piloting needs to go into the initial flight. I'm a big Rv guy so I by-passed the starter sets so I could have an outdoor toy in the long run. Yes I no its tiny so wind is a factor..Any advise from Santa for the kid????
Jaybird28 is offline Find More Posts by Jaybird28
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 12, 2009, 10:52 PM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,432 Posts
Does this mean you were able to trade the Novus CX in?

Learn to handle the heli in one orientation before going on to the next. Start with the tail toward you (tail-in). Practice hovering and moving forward, backward and sidewards in this orientation. Then, move to the next orientation (side left, side right or nose in; your choice). DO NO TURN until you can handle the heli in other orientations. If you do, you will crash.

It's best to get a foot or two off the floor very quickly. Lower than that and the heli gets caught in it's own bladewash and behaves very badly. My favorite trick is to use a piece of egg-crate lighting grille mounted a few feet above the floor. It completely eliminates bladewash. Very gentle movements are needed, always. Start at low rates and low setting on the swashplate. Have fun and welcome to the addiction.
Balr14 is online now Find More Posts by Balr14
Old Dec 12, 2009, 11:49 PM
bluefield va.
Joined Sep 2009
319 Posts
Good advice from balr14 also make sure you can fly in high rates if not any wind will take you away,theres not enough throw in low rates to fight the wind.GOOD LUCK.
grasschopper is offline Find More Posts by grasschopper
Old Dec 13, 2009, 12:09 AM
Charlotte Douglas, NC
Joined Sep 2003
3,015 Posts