HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 20, 2013, 10:47 PM
Joined Dec 2013
5 Posts
Discussion
Is flying a Tricopter "backwards" more efficient?

Hello, all! This is my first time posting on these boards

My interest in tricopters has just been piqued the other day, and while I don't currently have one, I've been trying to stuff my brain with knowledge about them ever since.

At any rate, one thing I've been wondering is if flying a tricopter with the yaw motor out front might be more efficient in forward flight than the more common configuration of steering from the rear. The logic is that when it's out back, it needs to produce more thrust (vs hover) to tilt the craft forwards, whereas when it's leading, it need to produce less thrust (vs hover) to tilt it forwards. While the difference might be negligible on common crafts, I'm wondering if it would be more noticeable on larger ones.

Anyone have any thoughts about this?

Cheers,
Mark
markaeric is offline Find More Posts by markaeric
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 20, 2013, 11:25 PM
$#|+
United States, CA, Orange
Joined May 2007
1,605 Posts
Welcome to RCGroups.

Not sure about efficiency but many tricopter pilots seem to prefer the "tail authority" a tricopter gives you.

Check out David Windestål's website, he knows his way around a tricopter
http://rcexplorer.se
mkmkmk13 is offline Find More Posts by mkmkmk13
Old Dec 20, 2013, 11:26 PM
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Feb 2013
1,768 Posts
No, that's not how it works. Your thinking too hard.
CG Photo is online now Find More Posts by CG Photo
Old Dec 20, 2013, 11:54 PM
Joined Dec 2013
5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkmkmk13 View Post
Welcome to RCGroups.

Not sure about efficiency but many tricopter pilots seem to prefer the "tail authority" a tricopter gives you.

Check out David Windestål's website, he knows his way around a tricopter
http://rcexplorer.se