New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jun 18, 2015, 03:20 PM
Megalite is offline
Find More Posts by Megalite
Registered User
Joined Apr 2013
9 Posts
Help!
UMX F4U Corsair loses connection?

On my maiden flight I tested that everything worked the flaps etc... When it got in the air it flew fine for 15 seconds and after flying for about 15 seconds in it was around 30 feet away and it just lost connection and fell to the ground. I broke a wing and the tail but I fixed those with some tape.
​On my second attempt yesterday I took it out and tested everything again and once it was around 6 feet away it just lost connection every single time and would become 2-3 feet airborne and fall.
​Today I tested it out and I noticed that it works only about 6 feet away from my transmitter that I got with the Corsair. Once it goes more than 6 feet away it will just lose connection and it will go full speed and wont respond to anything until i bring it back in the 6 feet range.

If someone could help a newbie out on how to fix this, please
Megalite is offline Find More Posts by Megalite
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 18, 2015, 03:57 PM
timmybeetle is offline
Find More Posts by timmybeetle
No Guts, No Glory
timmybeetle's Avatar
Nederland, LI, Helden
Joined Sep 2010
668 Posts
Range Check XMTR / RCVR

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megalite View Post
On my maiden flight I tested that everything worked the flaps etc... When it got in the air it flew fine for 15 seconds and after flying for about 15 seconds in it was around 30 feet away and it just lost connection and fell to the ground. I broke a wing and the tail but I fixed those with some tape.
​On my second attempt yesterday I took it out and tested everything again and once it was around 6 feet away it just lost connection every single time and would become 2-3 feet airborne and fall.
​Today I tested it out and I noticed that it works only about 6 feet away from my transmitter that I got with the Corsair. Once it goes more than 6 feet away it will just lose connection and it will go full speed and wont respond to anything until i bring it back in the 6 feet range.

If someone could help a newbie out on how to fix this, please
Range Check

When you are new too this hobby you better go to a flying club for help.
You have to perform always a range check with yours gear.
If not than you get yours experience..

grts Hans
timmybeetle is offline Find More Posts by timmybeetle
Last edited by timmybeetle; Jun 18, 2015 at 04:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2015, 04:09 PM
Megalite is offline
Find More Posts by Megalite
Registered User
Joined Apr 2013
9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmybeetle View Post
Range Check

When you are new too this hobby you better go to a flying club for help.
You have to perofrm always a range check with yours gear.
If not than you get yours experience..

grts Hans
I flew it in a range of maybe 30-40m in the 15 seconds that it actually did fly which I doubt is the flying range.
Megalite is offline Find More Posts by Megalite
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2015, 04:21 PM
timmybeetle is offline
Find More Posts by timmybeetle
No Guts, No Glory
timmybeetle's Avatar
Nederland, LI, Helden
Joined Sep 2010
668 Posts
If you want help and advise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megalite View Post
I flew it in a range of maybe 30-40m in the 15 seconds that it actually did fly which I doubt is the flying range.
Hello

A xmtr should have a range between 1000-1500 meters....
Good luck
grts
timmybeetle is offline Find More Posts by timmybeetle
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2015, 04:45 PM
Megalite is offline
Find More Posts by Megalite
Registered User
Joined Apr 2013
9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmybeetle View Post
Hello

A xmtr should have a range between 1000-1500 meters....
Good luck
grts
Apparently its a antenna problem, going to have to call Horizon Hobby.
Megalite is offline Find More Posts by Megalite
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2015, 06:08 PM
JonCM is online now
Find More Posts by JonCM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2014
225 Posts
check to make sure your transmitter is not in range test mode. if it is in range test mode what you will see is losing connection at very short distance.

a lot of low end transmitter have dead spots if you point the tip of the antenna right at the model.
JonCM is online now Find More Posts by JonCM
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2015, 01:34 AM
Megalite is offline
Find More Posts by Megalite
Registered User
Joined Apr 2013
9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonCM View Post
check to make sure your transmitter is not in range test mode. if it is in range test mode what you will see is losing connection at very short distance.

a lot of low end transmitter have dead spots if you point the tip of the antenna right at the model.
How do I check if its in range test mode? The transmitter is pretty basic not too many fancy controls and really didn't see any other buttons on it.
Megalite is offline Find More Posts by Megalite
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2015, 08:16 AM
JonCM is online now
Find More Posts by JonCM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2014
225 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megalite View Post
How do I check if its in range test mode? The transmitter is pretty basic not too many fancy controls and really didn't see any other buttons on it.
without knowing which tx you have its kinda hard to say
JonCM is online now Find More Posts by JonCM
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2015, 02:42 AM
Megalite is offline
Find More Posts by Megalite
Registered User
Joined Apr 2013
9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonCM View Post
without knowing which tx you have its kinda hard to say
2.4gHz 4-channel DSMX transmitter
Megalite is offline Find More Posts by Megalite
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2015, 06:43 AM
JonCM is online now
Find More Posts by JonCM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2014
225 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megalite View Post
2.4gHz 4-channel DSMX transmitter
What brand and model number
JonCM is online now Find More Posts by JonCM
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2015, 05:01 PM
Megalite is offline
Find More Posts by Megalite
Registered User
Joined Apr 2013
9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonCM View Post
What brand and model number
I'll check and post here ASAP.
Megalite is offline Find More Posts by Megalite
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product E-Flite UMX F4U Corsair BNF w/ AS3X ChuckTseeker Micro Ready-to-Fly 531 Jun 28, 2015 08:30 AM
Wanted UMX Corsair F4U Wing marblekit Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Jun 09, 2015 10:30 PM
Sold UMX F4U Corsair BNF with AS3X dizzane Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Jun 08, 2015 10:02 PM
Help! What battery should I get for my E-flite UMX F4U Corsair Megalite Batteries and Chargers 4 Jun 08, 2015 12:22 PM
Sold Brand New UMX F4U Corsair BnF vacahtu Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Jun 01, 2015 10:50 PM