HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 30, 2011, 09:39 PM
BabyBootLegger
sunworksco's Avatar
United States, CA, Alameda
Joined Nov 2010
655 Posts
Discussion
GoPro Camera

I am totally lost as how to operate my new GoPro camera. I was laboring under a false apprehension that the camera would operate right out of the box but the instructions are telling me to download a third-party firmware!
Someone please help me
Regards,
Giovanni
sunworksco is offline Find More Posts by sunworksco
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 30, 2011, 10:09 PM
Oh so close!
clipper99's Avatar
Campbell River
Joined Jan 2010
702 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunworksco View Post
I am totally lost as how to operate my new GoPro camera. I was laboring under a false apprehension that the camera would operate right out of the box but the instructions are telling me to download a third-party firmware!
Someone please help me
Regards,
Giovanni
Huh? 3rd party firmware? It does operate out of the box. Post a picture of the packaging?

Cheers
clipper99 is offline Find More Posts by clipper99
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 10:11 PM
BabyBootLegger
sunworksco's Avatar
United States, CA, Alameda
Joined Nov 2010
655 Posts
The instructions say to download firmware.
I cant get the camera to operate. I bought the optional LCD back and nothing works???
Giovanni
sunworksco is offline Find More Posts by sunworksco
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 10:12 PM
Defender of the Aerobird!
Mattydiah's Avatar
Milwaukee, WI
Joined Dec 2002
394 Posts
There was a firmware update that allowed the lcd back to work with the camera, but its not 3rd party, it comes from the gopro site.
Mattydiah is offline Find More Posts by Mattydiah
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 10:20 PM
BabyBootLegger
sunworksco's Avatar
United States, CA, Alameda
Joined Nov 2010
655 Posts
Went to GoPro site, clicked on their recommended link and a Google page of third-party software comes up!
Giovanni
sunworksco is offline Find More Posts by sunworksco
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 10:23 PM
Defender of the Aerobird!
Mattydiah's Avatar
Milwaukee, WI
Joined Dec 2002
394 Posts
Are you sure youre at gopro.com?

This is where you need to be http://gopro.com/support/hd-hero-firmware-update/
Mattydiah is offline Find More Posts by Mattydiah
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 10:27 PM
BabyBootLegger
sunworksco's Avatar
United States, CA, Alameda
Joined Nov 2010
655 Posts
Been there, done that!
Giovanni
sunworksco is offline Find More Posts by sunworksco
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 10:37 PM
Oh so close!
clipper99's Avatar
Campbell River
Joined Jan 2010
702 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunworksco View Post
Been there, done that!
Giovanni
Sounds like browser hijacking to me! Can't help you there!

Good luck
clipper99 is offline Find More Posts by clipper99
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 11:26 PM
BabyBootLegger
sunworksco's Avatar
United States, CA, Alameda
Joined Nov 2010
655 Posts
I will try again but with several new pc firewalls, you would think it would not hijack.
Giovanni
sunworksco is offline Find More Posts by sunworksco
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 11:33 PM
Oh so close!
clipper99's Avatar
Campbell River
Joined Jan 2010
702 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunworksco View Post
I will try again but with several new pc firewalls, you would think it would not hijack.
Giovanni
I don't assume anything and you should only be running one firewall.

So to clarify when you go to this page you are directed immediately to a Google search results page instead of the GoPro page where you can download the latest firmware?

http://gopro.com/support/hd-hero-firmware-update/

At this page on the right-hand side you MUST enter your first and last name and email. You then click on submit and then a download button appears.
clipper99 is offline Find More Posts by clipper99
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 11:43 PM
BabyBootLegger
sunworksco's Avatar
United States, CA, Alameda
Joined Nov 2010
655 Posts
Did that.
I'm taking it back to Best Buy tomorrow. Maybe the Geek Sqwad can look into it.
Giovanni
sunworksco is offline Find More Posts by sunworksco
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 02:52 AM
Registered User
richard boyd's Avatar
Northern Ireland
Joined May 2006
1,212 Posts
Hi, this firmware download worked fine for me,
Clipper99 is correct, you have PC problems.
I hope you get it sorted as the camera is awesome.

Good luck,

Richard
richard boyd is offline Find More Posts by richard boyd
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 10:35 AM
Defender of the Aerobird!
Mattydiah's Avatar
Milwaukee, WI
Joined Dec 2002
394 Posts
I'd take your computer to the geek squad before I'd take the gopro back. Unless thats what you meant.
Mattydiah is offline Find More Posts by Mattydiah
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 10:39 AM
BabyBootLegger
sunworksco's Avatar
United States, CA, Alameda
Joined Nov 2010
655 Posts
I want the camera.
Giovanni
sunworksco is offline Find More Posts by sunworksco
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 04, 2011, 08:49 PM
BabyBootLegger
sunworksco's Avatar
United States, CA, Alameda
Joined Nov 2010
655 Posts
Took the GoPro to the GeekSquad and they diagnosed it as being defectective and replaced it with a fully operational camera.
They even charged the new one and captured some images.
Glad I bought it there instead of online.
Regards,
Giovanni
sunworksco is offline Find More Posts by sunworksco
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion GoPro Camera sunworksco Eagle Tree Systems 4 Jun 29, 2011 09:49 AM
Discussion GoPro Camera and Wireless Live Video sunworksco Aerial Photography 1 Jun 28, 2011 08:08 PM
Discussion GoPro camera questions BOILER1 Aerial Photography 3 Jun 26, 2011 02:01 PM
Discussion Powering the KX-1 Micro Camera + GoPro Compare CaliDave FPV Talk 4 Mar 16, 2011 11:00 AM
Question Camera mount (GoPro and FPV camera) on a servo? rclab1 FPV Talk 1 Nov 12, 2010 12:51 PM