HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 16, 2012, 07:56 PM
DJI SUPPORT / TESTING
blade strike's Avatar
United States, CA, Big Bear
Joined Jan 2006
11,092 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by urbankuest View Post
Hi all,

I just tested the NAZA GPS today, not quite what i expected.

I've been flying the NAZA in a custom build 450 size quad with this setup:
Turnigy park300 1080kv motors
Turnigy 12amp ESC
8x4.5 props from flyduino
3s 3300mha Turnigy nano-tech
3s 4500mha Turnigy nano-tech

I must say this is the most efficient and stable quad i flew. Even with the 4500 lipo + a gopro and video tx i flies great, i can do between 12~16 minutes flights.

Since i updated firmware to v2.01 things have changed a lot. I have built a F550 hexa with T-motor 2212 and Dji 30amp ESC and added the Naza GPS to give it a first try.

I'm having a lot of issues with it. Flight time has decreased a lot, I know it has 2 more motors and its heavier than the quad, but i was not expecting the flight time to decrease by about 50%.

I'm also having yaw issues and wobbling. And if it's a bit windy its way too unstable. I tried to adjust the gains while in flight, didn't get any good result to stop the wobbling.

To take of i have to give it more throttle than before and i notice its much less responsive, if i descend quick, giving it full throttle is not enough to compensate and stop it to touch the ground. Vertical climbing is much slower than before.

btw, I calibrated the Compass, set in the software the correct offset position of the GPS to the CG.

I'm new to hexas, maybe i'm missing something

I did test the GPS features though, even with it being so unstable. I set a switch in my Aurora 9 to force the failsafe. It worked perfectly, RTH landed about 4 meters from take of.

I want to test it a bit more before i try the GPS in my 450 quad, tomorrow i will do more tests, i didn't test IOC yet so i'll try it, and i'll try to make a video of it. I also have a F450 frame but i dont like it much, The Dji frames are cool, but have some issues with vibrations

If someone has some tips i'll appreciate it

Cheers!
You might have already done this but did you retune for the hex config.. I run something like 225 on basic and 85 atti..
blade strike is offline Find More Posts by blade strike
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: DJI Pilot App *BETA* Overview
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:00 PM
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
United States, NY, Huntington Station
Joined May 2012
1,677 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-unit View Post
OK went and did some testing in the grass and it still will bounce only once but I don't think it is a product of the hard or soft ground, I now believe if it the PSI sensor like was mentioned way back by someone, The reason i say this is on the first bounce it don't even touch the ground{as u can see in the first video} only on the second and so on.. So i need to look at maybe putting some foam over the holes on the FC and see if that helps..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L1C_U...ature=youtu.be
Just a random thought. What range of size of the props that your quad suppose to use? And which one you are using?

The reason I ask is that I have a similar issue on my heli and the FC/barometer was right under the blades. The pressure from the blades pushes to the barometer and causing it to have incorrect reading. You can try a few things. 1. use smaller props. 2. move the FC to the dead center of the unit. 3. move it into the frame. 4. Have some sort of cover on the FC to divert the direct down draft from the props.
chuenwe is offline Find More Posts by chuenwe
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:05 PM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
AZ
Joined May 2006
4,891 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuenwe View Post
Just a random thought. What range of size of the props that your quad suppose to use? And which one you are using?

The reason I ask is that I have a similar issue on my heli and the FC/barometer was right under the blades. The pressure from the blades pushes to the barometer and causing it to have incorrect reading. You can try a few things. 1. use smaller props. 2. move the FC to the dead center of the unit. 3. move it into the frame. 4. Have some sort of cover on the FC to divert the direct down draft from the props.
Im using 8" props, I have the FC in the frame, I just put some stuff over the exposed servo ports, now just waiting on my batt to charge, and the i will try it out..
G-unit is offline Find More Posts by G-unit
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:09 PM
DJI SUPPORT / TESTING
blade strike's Avatar
United States, CA, Big Bear
Joined Jan 2006
11,092 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-unit View Post
Im using 8" props, I have the FC in the frame, I just put some stuff over the exposed servo ports, now just waiting on my batt to charge, and the i will try it out..
What is your v gain at?
blade strike is offline Find More Posts by blade strike
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: DJI Pilot App *BETA* Overview
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:10 PM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
AZ
Joined May 2006
4,891 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade strike View Post
what is your v gain at?
95%
G-unit is offline Find More Posts by G-unit
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:13 PM
Registered User
gww528's Avatar
United States, FL, Jacksonville
Joined Mar 2008
866 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade strike View Post
What is your v gain at?
I tried 80 through 140 in increments of 10 and none worked. Plus the pipe insulation I tried got pounded flat & now it has no cushion.

@G for testing purposes you may want to enable x1 on you Elevation, change it with one of your switches. Its a lot faster than running to the computer.
gww528 is offline Find More Posts by gww528
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:13 PM
DJI SUPPORT / TESTING
blade strike's Avatar
United States, CA, Big Bear
Joined Jan 2006
11,092 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-unit View Post
95%

try to go down to 80%..
blade strike is offline Find More Posts by blade strike
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: DJI Pilot App *BETA* Overview
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:13 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2012
52 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by docinfrance View Post
@ Azure IMO a lot of people are making a mistake in buying this unit to "help" fly FPV, when in fact it won't help you, it will fight you.

In FPV where you look is (pretty much) where you are headed and it's much clearer looking from the model's POV then a quad more then 50m away (especially when it comes from telling left to right). Basically you're always flying tail in.

It's easier then most people who have never tried FPV think it will be, and with the naza holding your altitude you really only need the GPS add on to get you out of trouble.
Yes, I think we are saying the same thing. FPV is a different animal, but easier in many respects because the orientation issues go away. And yes, I agree that my only reason for GPS currently is to bail me out with RTH when my video craps out or I fly out of RC range by mistake. I'm sure the PH would be helpful occasionally as well; like if I had to scratch my balls or something.
azure is offline Find More Posts by azure
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:14 PM
DJI SUPPORT / TESTING
blade strike's Avatar
United States, CA, Big Bear
Joined Jan 2006
11,092 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gww528 View Post
I tried 80 through 140 in increments of 10 and none worked. Plus the pipe insulation I tried got pounded flat & now it has no cushion.
wow and this is on a f330? 4s or 3s and 8" props?
blade strike is offline Find More Posts by blade strike
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: DJI Pilot App *BETA* Overview
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:15 PM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
AZ
Joined May 2006
4,891 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade strike View Post
try to go down to 80%..
I just went to 75%
G-unit is offline Find More Posts by G-unit
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:15 PM
DJI SUPPORT / TESTING
blade strike's Avatar
United States, CA, Big Bear
Joined Jan 2006
11,092 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-unit View Post
I just went to 75%
Might help, might not but wont hurt to try
blade strike is offline Find More Posts by blade strike
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: DJI Pilot App *BETA* Overview
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:16 PM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
AZ
Joined May 2006
4,891 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade strike View Post
wow and this is on a f330? 4s or 3s and 8" props?
His is a 550 hexa
G-unit is offline Find More Posts by G-unit
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:17 PM
DJI SUPPORT / TESTING
blade strike's Avatar
United States, CA, Big Bear
Joined Jan 2006
11,092 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gww528 View Post
I tried 80 through 140 in increments of 10 and none worked. Plus the pipe insulation I tried got pounded flat & now it has no cushion.

@G for testing purposes you may want to enable x1 on you Elevation, change it with one of your switches. Its a lot faster than running to the computer.
Please post setup again..
blade strike is offline Find More Posts by blade strike
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: DJI Pilot App *BETA* Overview
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:17 PM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
AZ
Joined May 2006
4,891 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade strike View Post
Might help, might not but wont hurt to try
We will find out, come on battery's !!
G-unit is offline Find More Posts by G-unit
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2012, 08:18 PM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
G-unit's Avatar
AZ
Joined May 2006
4,891 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gww528 View Post
I tried 80 through 140 in increments of 10 and none worked. Plus the pipe insulation I tried got pounded flat & now it has no cushion.

@G for testing purposes you may want to enable x1 on you Elevation, change it with one of your switches. Its a lot faster than running to the computer.
Yes i have it on a dial now..
G-unit is offline Find More Posts by G-unit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product GAUI 500x/ GU-INS GPS Owners Thread - Tips, Problems And Experiences sap_2000 Multirotor Talk 231 Aug 05, 2014 05:32 AM
Discussion HoverFly Owners Thread: Pro, GPS, Sport, Gimbal and news Adidas4275 Multirotor Talk 195 Sep 06, 2012 05:45 PM
Found DJI NAZA GPS Upgrade Module for the DJI Naza Flight Controller skyhulk Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 10 Jul 20, 2012 09:47 PM
Question Question for Spektrum DX8/HF GPS owners Wayno Complaino Hoverfly Technologies 13 Jan 01, 2012 02:18 PM
Discussion Gps owner videos jginsandiego Hoverfly Technologies 0 Oct 04, 2011 06:01 PM