HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 08, 2012, 11:19 AM
Joined Mar 2011
87 Posts
Discussion
Swapping ESC; need to re-program TX?

I had to replace a failed NEODYM ESC in a Trex 450 clone. I bought an Align RCE-BL35X for the replacement.

After changing NOTHING else in my setup (and yes checking THREE times that the servos are plugged into the correct receiver channels), my throttle and elevator controls are now reversed.

LHS just gave me a dumb look when I asked for help.

Anyone here have an answer? Could the Swash AFR need to be tweaked? I'm new to this so please be nice!! 8-)

boowho??
boowho is offline Find More Posts by boowho
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 08, 2012, 01:34 PM
We want... Information!
Hastings, New Zealand
Joined Jan 2001
5,182 Posts
Spooky!

While replacing the ESC, did you unplug any of the servos from the receiver? If so then you may have plugged them back into the wrong channels.

The only other possibility is that somehow the settings in your transmitter have changed. Are you on the correct model memory?
Bruce Abbott is offline Find More Posts by Bruce Abbott
Old Mar 08, 2012, 02:08 PM
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
11,543 Posts
Simply swapping one ESC for another should not change anything -- except, perhaps, the throttle response.

Even being on the wrong model memory in your transmitter shouldn't result in what you've described, for throttle should always be in channel 3 (for Futaba) and elevator should always be in channel 2 (Futaba again). I believe with Spektrum/JR the channel numbers may be different, but they'll always be the same for any particular transmitter.