SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 19, 2010, 10:34 AM
Heliyork
Joined Nov 2009
84 Posts
Help!
Is that a weak tail motor???

Hi all, i need help here regarding my Honey Bee FP. I am quite new to RC helis and have the potential to mess things up quite easily

(First a little background)
After successfully mastering my hover skills i thought about modifying my HB FP a little and in doing so replaced the landing skids with Xtreme and also swapped the tail motor with Xtreme DD tail motor. I soon realized that this has made the heli a lot heavier and now it barely hovers 3ft- 4ft off the ground. To rectify this problem i replaced the original 2s lipo with the 3s and viola, burned my first 4 in 1 during a crash After getting the new 4 in 1 and before installing it i put back the original HB FP landing skids to reduce some weight.

(Now the problem)
Now i am back to stock 2s lipo but unable to hover the heli as it spin anti-clockwise as soon as it lift off and increasing the throttle makes it spin even faster. Giving full right rudder(yaw) doesn't even help. I have played with the PROPORTION and GAIN settings on the 4 in 1 but the problem is still there. The only thing that comes to my mind is the weak tail motor but i am not sure if that is really the case here. I don't even know how to verify if that is due to a weak tail motor as it looks fine to me . Any help plz
Firewolf is offline Find More Posts by Firewolf
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 19, 2010, 02:45 PM
Fly Runaway Fans
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Jan 2009
9,387 Posts
I haven't dealt with the DD tail for these, but the stock ones need replacement every 10 hours. They still spin, but they don't respond like the gyro is expecting and what I see when that happens is yaw wandering (jumping really) >90* whereas with good motor it's closer to 15*.
arbilab is offline Find More Posts by arbilab
Old Feb 19, 2010, 02:55 PM
Blade assassin
USA, LA, Lake Charles
Joined Jul 2008