Shop our Airplanes Products Shop our Surface Products
Thread Tools
Old Jul 28, 2014, 01:06 PM
Kid45 is offline
Find More Posts by Kid45
Registered User
Joined Jul 2014
62 Posts
Discussion
Aurora 9 or Taranis with XPS module?

Jim, in your opinion, between the Aurora 9 and Taranis.

1. Which is the most reliable in combination with XPS module ?

2. Which has the most practical functions ? (not stuff that don't get used.)

I do have a Optic 6 with XPS, does that module fit and work on the Aurora 9 or Taranis ?
Kid45 is offline Find More Posts by Kid45
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 28, 2014, 05:05 PM
JimDrew is online now
Find More Posts by JimDrew
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
17,375 Posts
Your Optic 6 module does not fit either. I don't like the Taranis programming. I find it extremely difficult and non-intuitive. The A9 has just 9 channels, so that's its downside.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2014, 02:09 AM
Kid45 is offline
Find More Posts by Kid45
Registered User
Joined Jul 2014
62 Posts
Thanks.

9 Channels is enough for me.

I want to buy a used Tx with more model memory than the Optic 6 but I don't have the funds to replace the module as well so I want to use what I have. Which Tx would you recommend?
Kid45 is offline Find More Posts by Kid45
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2014, 08:31 AM
theKM is offline
Find More Posts by theKM
↓↘→ + (punch)
theKM's Avatar
central PA.
Joined Sep 2004
21,683 Posts
The A9 has better hardware and is generally easier to use.

I actually quite like the Taranis programming now, and there's no doubt that it's more capable... but it certainly is different.
theKM is offline Find More Posts by theKM
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Updated Hatcam - Apr2016
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2014, 09:03 AM
JuanRodriguez is online now
Find More Posts by JuanRodriguez
Registered User
The Villages, Florida
Joined May 2003
886 Posts
I agree that the Taranis is not intuitive when it comes to programming. Having come from a JR "background " , there was a bit of a learning curve before I started feeling comfortable. The help and support you get on the Taranis forums about the Taranis is next to none (except for JD's help here ) There are a boatload of videos that help you get started and beyond. There is nothing else out there currently that will give you a better value for the dollar.....
I said CURRENTLY ......Jim , I know you are reading but are you listening ???
JuanRodriguez is online now Find More Posts by JuanRodriguez
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2014, 10:02 AM
Warjet1950 is offline
Find More Posts by Warjet1950
RC Warjet
United States, CA, Jamul
Joined Mar 2013
1,985 Posts
The XPS module in the Optic 6 will not work in the Taranis, different fit (Futaba versus JR).
Warjet1950 is offline Find More Posts by Warjet1950
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2014, 05:25 PM
4*60 is offline
Find More Posts by 4*60
most exalted one
Canada, BC, Blind Bay
Joined Aug 2002
4,650 Posts
You can do a mod and create a cable which will work with the Aurora and the module.
Around post 76 gets to the info

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ght=dm8&page=2

I tested on the bench with XPS but never flew with the cable.
4*60 is offline Find More Posts by 4*60
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2014, 12:47 AM
JimDrew is online now
Find More Posts by JimDrew
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
17,375 Posts
The Aurora 9 requires a special module because it does not use PPM. The Aurora 9 uses a custom bi-directional protocol, so a module specifically for it had to be created.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2014, 02:25 AM
4*60 is offline
Find More Posts by 4*60
most exalted one
Canada, BC, Blind Bay
Joined Aug 2002
4,650 Posts
Quote:

"Just got done with setting up my DM8.

I was able to get the entire thing setup without ever breaking open the A9 or the DM8.

Here are pictures and some instructions that helped me.

I purchased all my stuff at the local Radio Shack using parts listed here:

NPN Transistor, Part Num: MPSS222A
Resistor, 4.7k 1/4 watt 5%(in place of the of the schematic 6.2k)
Resistor, 22k 1/4 watt 5%(in place of the schematic 13k)

Total cost $3"


But OK, I certainly believed Mike over at Hitec also when they originally claimed it was a fast digital signal and fast radio until it was proven otherwise.
Great radio anyway!
4*60 is offline Find More Posts by 4*60
Last edited by 4*60; Jul 30, 2014 at 02:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2014, 10:22 AM
JimDrew is online now
Find More Posts by JimDrew
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
17,375 Posts
Yeah, that's PPM - even slower than Hitec's 2.4GHz setup, and you get no telemetry capability. Our A9 module cuts the latency in half and gives you telemetry.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2014, 12:35 AM
4*60 is offline
Find More Posts by 4*60
most exalted one
Canada, BC, Blind Bay
Joined Aug 2002
4,650 Posts
Realized that after that you meant for telemetry etc.!!
4*60 is offline Find More Posts by 4*60
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2014, 03:07 AM
Kid45 is offline
Find More Posts by Kid45
Registered User
Joined Jul 2014
62 Posts
What telemetry data can one get with the A9 module? (Volts? current? other?)

Can the XPS module for Taranis give you telemetry? If so, what data can it give?
Kid45 is offline Find More Posts by Kid45
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 03, 2014, 09:24 AM
JimDrew is online now
Find More Posts by JimDrew
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
17,375 Posts
You get RSSI (signal strength) and Rx battery voltage back through the A9's display when using our older 8/10 channel receivers or RFU. You can get RSSI (only) using the Nano II and the latest firmware.

There is no possibility of getting telemetry through a Taranis with our module.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2014, 02:36 PM
Kid45 is offline
Find More Posts by Kid45
Registered User
Joined Jul 2014
62 Posts
I really wanted full telemetry and the programming capabilities of the Taranis is a big bonus. I sold my Optic6/XPS and I bought a Taranis and fitted a used JR-XPS module I bought from a guy who gave up using XPS. I considered other radios but now I am glad I made this choice. I find the capability of the Tx much beter than the expensive radios I compared and learned the programming / setup fast and think it quite easy. I still learn how to do Lua script but I can see that it is a powerful tool.

What I did with my Taranis was to test running a FrSky and a XPS Nano receiver together. I put both in a plane and ground test with full transmitting power out about 800m to see if there is any interference in either system. I moved around and checked the RSSI from the FrSky Rx. It was still good and my flying buddy did not see any problems on the plane side. Then I started to fly like that, with the Nano controlling the main functions and the FrSky for the telemetry functions. I still have more faith in the XPS Nano and chose not to use the FrSky receivers for control in my big planes at this stage, but do use some in my smaller .60 and .40 size planes. So far I had zero issues with the XPS / FrSky combination.
Kid45 is offline Find More Posts by Kid45
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2014, 11:54 AM
Depot is offline
Find More Posts by Depot
Fool on a Hill
Joined Apr 2014
71 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Your Optic 6 module does not fit either. I don't like the Taranis programming. I find it extremely difficult and non-intuitive. The A9 has just 9 channels, so that's its downside.
I sure wish you would delve deeper into it and maybe end up changing your mind.

I don't think OpenTX is going to go away, and through evolution, will become a defacto standard for TX firmware and control for many brands.

I'm not an OpenTX dupe, just someone who knows what the future looks like when I see it. I bought a Taranis specifically for learning what OpenTX is all about, and so far, I'm liking what I see.
Depot is offline Find More Posts by Depot
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale XPS Aurora 9 Tx Module RCFEVER Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Nov 13, 2012 05:12 PM
Discussion XPS module for Hitec Aurora 9? sbc Xtreme Power Systems 43 Sep 17, 2012 04:45 PM
Sold XPS TX Module for Aurora 9 KeithK Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Aug 26, 2012 03:00 PM
Wanted XPS Aurora 9 Tx module hawkz Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Apr 16, 2012 09:54 PM
Discussion Jim -XPS module for new Hitec Aurora 9 ?? Howard L Xtreme Power Systems 4 Apr 21, 2009 12:06 AM