New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Dec 11, 2008, 05:27 AM
mravell is offline
Find More Posts by mravell
Registered User
Joined Jan 2007
77 Posts
Help!
Prospeed CR-1K Radar Gun Serial connection

I have a Prospeed CR-1K radar gun which we are using for DS speeds here in SYdney Australia.

The gun has a PS/2 style port on it which I am assuming is outputting RS-232.

My request for help is this. Can sanyone who has a suitable cable for this gun post the pinouts here or send them to me personally?

I want to hook the gun up to my PC so that I can capture data from the gun.


Regards
Marty
mravell is offline Find More Posts by mravell
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 12, 2008, 03:07 PM
mravell is offline
Find More Posts by mravell
Registered User
Joined Jan 2007
77 Posts
Anyone?

Doesn't anyone have one of these?

Or an idea how I can determine which lines are which? There are four connections to the plug on the gun itself (the four bottom holes if you are looking at the socket with the locator pin at the top).
mravell is offline Find More Posts by mravell
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2008, 04:07 PM
r/c junkie is offline
Find More Posts by r/c junkie
TEAM OZSKUNKWORX
r/c junkie's Avatar
KORUMBURRA IN THE BOONDOCS
Joined Jan 2006
4,778 Posts
Marty if you get it can you send me a copy for my Prospeed.

Thanks
Shane
r/c junkie is offline Find More Posts by r/c junkie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2008, 03:04 AM
mravell is offline
Find More Posts by mravell
Registered User
Joined Jan 2007
77 Posts
Happy to forward on information.


Regards
Marty
mravell is offline Find More Posts by mravell
Last edited by mravell; Dec 14, 2008 at 04:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2008, 11:53 AM
Pismo is offline
Find More Posts by Pismo
Jim in San Diego
Pismo's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Nov 2002
4,112 Posts
Do you know for sure that the port is a standard P/S2 6 pin DIN miniport? Probably is but without documentation you'll need to make sure. Do a search for P/S2 and you'll find info on the electrical and communication interface.

If you have a DMM and the gun just read between pin-5 and pin-3 and see if you get around +5VDC. If not then it's not P/S2.

It'd be great if you could just use a simple P/S2 to USB converter and connect it to a laptop or PC USB port but again, make sure you're dealing with compatible signals first. An example of what I'm talking about can be found here: http://hobbymechatronics.com/project...nterface-cable

Have you tried contacting the manufacturer to see if they would be willing to provide you with interface information? I wouldn't hurt to email them and ask.

Good luck with this and please post your findings (if you feel like keeping it in the PD). I'll bet a community effort would make something many DSers out there would like.

Jim
Pismo is offline Find More Posts by Pismo
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2008, 12:15 PM
sll914 is offline
Find More Posts by sll914
Registered User
sll914's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Oct 2003
1,269 Posts
If you contact Decatur Electronics, they can send you the wiring harness and a CD rom. If I remember correctly, it will capture the speeds to notepad on your laptop thru the serial port. I used to have this setup a while back...

Spencer

http://www.decaturradar.com/
sll914 is offline Find More Posts by sll914
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2008, 04:08 PM
mravell is offline
Find More Posts by mravell
Registered User
Joined Jan 2007
77 Posts
I had been labouring under the assumption that the interface was going to be serial i.e. RS-232 and that they were just using a PS/2 style socket for convenience.

Do you know for a fact that they are actually putting out something like a keyboard signal over PS/2 style voltage levels instead?
mravell is offline Find More Posts by mravell
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2008, 04:10 PM
mravell is offline
Find More Posts by mravell
Registered User
Joined Jan 2007
77 Posts
I emailed the manufacturer last week.

No reply so far.
mravell is offline Find More Posts by mravell
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2015, 02:13 PM
nicholg is offline
Find More Posts by nicholg
GeoffN
United Kingdom, County of Herefordshire
Joined Jun 2006
31 Posts
Did you ever get a reply?
nicholg is offline Find More Posts by nicholg
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2015, 07:48 PM
mravell is offline
Find More Posts by mravell
Registered User
Joined Jan 2007
77 Posts
Sorry to say that I never did get a reply or get the gun to successfully transfer data. Maybe if I had access to a scope.
mravell is offline Find More Posts by mravell
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 01, 2015, 02:43 PM
nicholg is offline
Find More Posts by nicholg
GeoffN
United Kingdom, County of Herefordshire
Joined Jun 2006
31 Posts
I have some info from the manual

"To set the communication format, continue to hold down the
power button when you power up your radar gun. When C 2
appears, you can toggle through the format options (0, 1, 2, 3,
4) by alternately releasing and pushing the power button.
When you see the option number you want, release the power
button. After two seconds, the radar gun resets to the new
communication format you choose.
Communication Formats
Format 0: No format, no data.
Format 1: Series 200 speed display signs
Format 2: Speed Tracker speed analysis software program
Format 3: 9600 baud ASCII
[hundreds][tens][ones].[tenths]<CR>
Format 4: Series 100 speed display signs

So we can now set the gun to 9600 baud ASCI and we have the data format.
The idea is to connect the data port to a cheap bluetooth cct board, from there to my android phone which will then speak the max speed every 10 sec.
I have found an app that will do some of it but at the moment is speaks every speed and as speeds are transmitted 20 samples a second there is a bit of a log jam.
Onward and around in circles.
nicholg is offline Find More Posts by nicholg
Last edited by nicholg; Apr 01, 2015 at 02:45 PM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2015, 09:34 AM
nicholg is offline
Find More Posts by nicholg
GeoffN
United Kingdom, County of Herefordshire
Joined Jun 2006
31 Posts
I've managed to get data out of the prospeed using a cable and show it on hyperterm on my laptop.
data format is 000.0cr hundreds, tens, units, dot, tenths, Carriage return ,
No line feed so it can look like only one reading.
about 90 readings per second !

Plug is PS2 the old keyboard /mouse cable plug. you can get a male to male cable off Ebay for a couple of Pounds.
Male Pin out numbering looking from the pin side with the square at the top
O = square : x = pin

5 x O x 6
3 x x 4
1 x x 2

PS2 9pin d plug
1 ------------- 5
2-------------- 2
3---------------3
nicholg is offline Find More Posts by nicholg
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2015, 11:26 AM
nicholg is offline
Find More Posts by nicholg
GeoffN
United Kingdom, County of Herefordshire
Joined Jun 2006
31 Posts
I have just managed to see the data on my android Samsung S2 phone using a terminal app.
Data out of prospeed is rs232 levels so I used a mini rs232 convertor from ebay.
mini rs232

and a bluetooth serial circuit.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Wireless-S...item3aa7b65e56

Only trouble now is the data is coming in too fast.
I;m learning Java so I can mod an open source android terminal app so that it only displays / speaks the fastest speed in the last 10 sec
nicholg is offline Find More Posts by nicholg
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Prospeed Cr-1K radar Gun Roryw Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Feb 06, 2008 04:05 PM
Wanted Wanted - Prospeed CR-1K Radar Gun Roryw Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 0 Feb 03, 2008 04:03 PM
Sold Prospeed CR-1K Radar gun with extras Steve H. Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 1 Jan 31, 2008 08:22 PM
Sold Prospeed CR-1K Radar Gun d.s.stunner Non R/C Items (FS/W) 1 Feb 05, 2007 12:16 PM
FS:Radar Guns - Prospeed™ CR-1K Radar Gun speedster Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 6 Jan 18, 2005 03:07 PM