SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jun 09, 2014, 04:11 PM
Molon Labe
Canada, ON, Guelph
Joined Jun 2012
716 Posts
Question
First Airliner?

Hi guys, I am interested in building an airliner. I have been building foamies for several years, and would like to try my hand at something new. I have seen so many different techniques here, that I am quite unsure of where to start. I would like to start with something small and simple, probably using 50mm fans. Any help on construction metheods, (eg. hotwire cutting, making wings and fuselages out of depron and mounting mtors) would be appreciated, as well as any ideas of a relatively easy plane to start with, like a 737 or something.
Thanks!
NG
addictedtoplanes is offline Find More Posts by addictedtoplanes
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 09, 2014, 08:15 PM
Up-Out-&-Gone
United States, SC, Charleston
Joined Mar 2007
16,346 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by addictedtoplanes View Post
Hi guys, I am interested in building an airliner. I have been building foamies for several years, and would like to try my hand at something new. I have seen so many different techniques here, that I am quite unsure of where to start. I would like to start with something small and simple, probably using 50mm fans. Any help on construction metheods, (eg. hotwire cutting, making wings and fuselages out of depron and mounting mtors) would be appreciated, as well as any ideas of a relatively easy plane to start with, like a 737 or something.
Thanks!
NG
Yes indeed an A320 or 737 would be a great build indeed.
demondriver is online now Find More Posts by demondriver
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 09, 2014, 08:22 PM
Airliner Builder
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Feb 2010
1,996 Posts
I would recommend anything with tail-mounted EDFs such as an MD-80 because the wings are less complicated (no pylons).
WAGliderGuy is online now Find More Posts by WAGliderGuy
Old Jun 09, 2014, 08:28 PM
Molon Labe
Canada, ON, Guelph
Joined Jun 2012