HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 06, 2013, 09:59 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Bristol
Joined Aug 2008
1,774 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by quad007 View Post
you used tgy.hex right?

http://realfpv.com/escfirmware/bin.zip

extract, double click FLASHTOOL.bat, select the 25A and flash again. it should work. you could also try unlocking the bootloader again. i know my program does it correctly.
Can't get it to run. No errors i can tell you just trying to send crash report to MS
SadSack is offline Find More Posts by SadSack
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 06, 2013, 11:40 PM
DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
quad007's Avatar
United States, FL, Orlando
Joined Oct 2012
890 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SadSack View Post
Can't get it to run. No errors i can tell you just trying to send crash report to MS
you probably don't have Excel installed. It tries to read the excel file at startup, and can't do that without excel. maybe i should have used a CSV file instead
quad007 is offline Find More Posts by quad007
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 06, 2013, 11:46 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Bristol
Joined Aug 2008
1,774 Posts
guessing openoffice ain't going to do it ? Neither are installed.
SadSack is offline Find More Posts by SadSack
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 01:25 AM
DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
quad007's Avatar
United States, FL, Orlando
Joined Oct 2012
890 Posts
sorry it uses the microsoft data provider to read the excel file. i wonder if there is another API i can use that does the same thing, without actually needing excel installed
quad007 is offline Find More Posts by quad007
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 01:27 AM
DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
quad007's Avatar
United States, FL, Orlando
Joined Oct 2012
890 Posts
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...ng=en&id=13255

actually try installing this, you might just need the redistribuatble
quad007 is offline Find More Posts by quad007
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 01:59 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,583 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by quad007 View Post
on my kk2, roll is all the way up on 90 lol.

i will be releasing my updated flash tool today or tomorrow. it also supports firmware builder, and natively compiles your firmware with settings you want.

it allows you to enable rc car mode, etc.

also unlocks bootloader for turnigy PWM flashing
Quote:
Originally Posted by quad007 View Post
Nice to see you again on rcgroups. And again you were quicker than me. I am thinking about a version with onboard compiler since weeks, to compile the firmware yourself. But time is low. Also like your usage of the ESC google doc.

Best Christian
LazyZero is offline Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 04:08 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
1 Posts
I am intersting pleas if you can share the esc's information it wouled be great for me thank you so much
neptun_2002 is offline Find More Posts by neptun_2002
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 03:10 PM
hacker
Canada, BC, North Vancouver
Joined Dec 2010
936 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexacop View Post
I have flashed Mystery 40A 2-6S ESC.from HobbyKing and was pretty satisfied with them but then we had intermittent problems with motor glitches....
The burning and failing component was a mosfet TC4421
...
In my opinion this ESC is NOT SUITABLE FOR 5S or even 6S!!!
Hmm, Pete and I were just testing Mystery 40A at 6S with SunnySky X4112S 320KV motors, and had good results. One we were testing with had a FET and gate resistor fall off -- closer inspection shows that the board was probably reflowed at too cold of a temperature. Luckily the other FETs still worked and I was able to get some thermal shots showing that really the only problem with the board is that it dissipates quite a bunch of heat from the ATmega8 voltage regulator at 6S (when idle): http://0x.ca/sim/esc/Mystery_40A/

Which Mystery 40A exactly did you order?
simonk is offline Find More Posts by simonk
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 11:09 PM
Registered User
mnegrete's Avatar
Sacramento
Joined Jan 2008
64 Posts
I purchased 4 RCTimer 30A flashed ESCs and I was able to calibrate the throttle on three of the four ESCs, but couldn't get the fourth to work, so I figured I needed to flash the fourth one. I purchased a USBasp programmer off of ebay and tried flashing with the ESC Flash Tool and with the KKMulticopter flash tool.

When using the ESC Flash Tool I got the following error:

"Unable to connect to remote server"

I am soldering directly to the esc. A few photos are attached. Any thoughts on what is going hay wire? Thx.

When I used the KKMulticopter flash tool, I got the following error:

Flash the firmware from repository.
Flashing firmware from file.: C:\Users\Dad\Desktop\KK\tmp\tgy.hex

C:\Users\Dad\Desktop\KK\lib\avrdude\windows\avrdud e.exe -C
C:\Users\Dad\Desktop\KK\lib\avrdude\windows\avrdud e.conf -p m8 -P usb -c
usbasp -B 8 -e -U flash:w:C:\Users\Dad\Desktop\KK\tmp\tgy.hex:i

avrdude.exe: set SCK frequency to 93750 Hz
avrdude.exe: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp
firmware update.
avrdude.exe: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.01s

avrdude.exe: Device signature = 0x1e9307
avrdude.exe: erasing chip
avrdude.exe: set SCK frequency to 93750 Hz
avrdude.exe: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp
firmware update.
avrdude.exe: reading input file "C:\Users\Dad\Desktop\KK\tmp\tgy.hex"
avrdude.exe: writing flash (8192 bytes):

Writing | ################################################## | 100% 1.87s

avrdude.exe: 8192 bytes of flash written
avrdude.exe: verifying flash memory against
C:\Users\Dad\Desktop\KK\tmp\tgy.hex:
avrdude.exe: load data flash data from input file
C:\Users\Dad\Desktop\KK\tmp\tgy.hex:
avrdude.exe: input file C:\Users\Dad\Desktop\KK\tmp\tgy.hex contains 8192
bytes
avrdude.exe: reading on-chip flash data:

Reading | ##########avrdude.exe: error: usbasp_transmit: usb_control_msg:
sending control message failed, win error: The I/O operation has been
aborted because of either a thread exit or an application request.


avrdude.exe: error: wrong reading bytes ffffffff
avrdude.exe: error: wrong reading bytes 30
######################################## | 100% 6.10s

avrdude.exe: verifying ...
avrdude.exe: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x06c0
0xff != 0x81
avrdude.exe: verification error; content mismatch

avrdude.exe done. Thank you.

Error during writing flash.
mnegrete is offline Find More Posts by mnegrete
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 07, 2013, 11:20 PM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,071 Posts
some interesting happens here when flashing my blueseries 12A

i got 2 of them unable to flash with tool from HK.. and i looked at the chip... the unable ones are Atmega8 instead of Atmega8A.

I have no clue what is going on....

Quote:
Flash the firmware file.

E:\ProjQuad\Esc\kkt\lib\avrdude\windows\avrdude.ex e -C E:\ProjQuad\Esc\kkt\lib\avrdude\windows\avrdude.co nf -p m8 -P usb -c usbasp -B 8 -e -U lfuse:r:E:\ProjQuad\Esc\kkt\tmp\/lfuse.hex:r -U hfuse:r:E:\ProjQuad\Esc\kkt\tmp\/hfuse.hex:r

avrdude.exe: set SCK frequency to 93750 Hz
avrdude.exe: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude.exe: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.


avrdude.exe done. Thank you.

Error during reading of high fuse.
Flashing of firmware aborted.
anyone got idea what is going on here?
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 01:35 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Alsdorf/Eifel, Germany
Joined Jun 2005
1,583 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnegrete View Post
I purchased 4 RCTimer 30A flashed ESCs and I was able to calibrate the throttle on three of the four ESCs, but couldn't get the fourth to work, so I figured I needed to flash the fourth one. I purchased a USBasp programmer off of ebay and tried flashing with the ESC Flash Tool and with the KKMulticopter flash tool.

When using the ESC Flash Tool I got the following error:

"Unable to connect to remote server"

I am soldering directly to the esc. A few photos are attached. Any thoughts on what is going hay wire? Thx.

When I used the KKMulticopter flash tool, I got the following error:

....

Reading | ##########avrdude.exe: error: usbasp_transmit: usb_control_msg:
sending control message failed, win error: The I/O operation has been
aborted because of either a thread exit or an application request.


avrdude.exe: error: wrong reading bytes ffffffff
avrdude.exe: error: wrong reading bytes 30
######################################## | 100% 6.10s

avrdude.exe: verifying ...
avrdude.exe: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x06c0
0xff != 0x81
avrdude.exe: verification error; content mismatch

avrdude.exe done. Thank you.

Error during writing flash.
Please try again with a current limiting power supply attached to the battery wires of the ESC. You then have to remove the 5V connection from the USBasp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jy0933 View Post
some interesting happens here when flashing my blueseries 12A

i got 2 of them unable to flash with tool from HK.. and i looked at the chip... the unable ones are Atmega8 instead of Atmega8A.

I have no clue what is going on....



anyone got idea what is going on here?
There should be no difference in calling avrdude on 8 and 8A ATmega.

Best Christian
LazyZero is offline Find More Posts by LazyZero
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 01:37 AM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,071 Posts
i did looked up the pin layout.. they are the same.. but both 8s I got are not flahable.... i suspect they might lock something...
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 02:42 AM
Hexapilot
Germany, BY, Munich
Joined Mar 2012
94 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonk View Post
Hmm, Pete and I were just testing Mystery 40A at 6S with SunnySky X4112S 320KV motors, and had good results. One we were testing with had a FET and gate resistor fall off -- closer inspection shows that the board was probably reflowed at too cold of a temperature. Luckily the other FETs still worked and I was able to get some thermal shots showing that really the only problem with the board is that it dissipates quite a bunch of heat from the ATmega8 voltage regulator at 6S (when idle): http://0x.ca/sim/esc/Mystery_40A/

Which Mystery 40A exactly did you order?
Hi Simon,
seems my Mystery ESC (40A 2-6s) looks the same from the label but they have a different layout, please see the video at 3:00, even the 3.3V regulator and the mosfet driver next to it is the same. They worked for a while but in the meantime 2 copters crashed three times with the same symptoms. And the worst experience was the burning one in my garage right after swapping the battery.
In any case I will throw them away, I have ordered HobbyWing 40Amp OPTO and will give those a try...
Thank you for all the help here ;-)
hexacop is offline Find More Posts by hexacop
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 04:10 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2011
472 Posts
What am i doing wrong...

im using: 261000001
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...C_1A_UBEC.html
Programer
USBasp http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...occessors.html

i connected the programer, but with 5v connected the led on the programer is dimmed and its not connectet at the pc.

so i removed the 5v and used external power (trough the power leads -> 5v)

programing is fine with that, esc is working.
BUT

the escs stop working after 30 seconds it just restarts... what to do?
am i doing anything wrong?
V_Okto is offline Find More Posts by V_Okto
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 08, 2013, 05:22 AM
Registered User
France, IdF, Neuilly-sur-Seine
Joined Jan 2012
92 Posts
Clear EEPROM

@SimonK and Lazy Zero
In github :
Quote:
There is currently no way to reset (remove) the calibration other than by clearing the EEPROM (or reflashing without EESAVE set).
In tgy.asm :
Quote:
If the boot loader is enabled, the last nibble of the hfuse should be set to 'a' or '2' to also enable EESAVE - save EEPROM on chip erase
When using KKMulticopterFlashTool, the last nibble of the hfuse is set to 'a' when bootloader is enable. Is there a way to clear EEPROM, to use default values of the firmware, when flashing with PWM (USB Linker) ?
Is it possible to upload a code to clear the EEPROM and then upload ESC firmware ?

Thanks,
airmamaf is offline Find More Posts by airmamaf
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 03:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 10:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 10:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 03:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 03:31 PM