SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 18, 2014, 08:11 PM
Find More Posts by Rocketman209
Arlington, TX
Joined Dec 2002
608 Posts
Discussion
Scale Build Off 4 - SE-5 Peanut scale

Hey guys, this is my first build off. I am starting this thread in order to join, but I don't have much to show yet. My build is small, and I have completed the drawings, so I should have some progress soon. I enjoy small builds, as they remind me of all my rubber FF stuff I built when I was young. Sticks, tissue and dope! lets see what develops. I enjoy small builds, so I thought I would post some pics of some prior builds. The Albatross never made it to RC, But the Martinside and the Bristol did.
Rocketman209 is offline Find More Posts by Rocketman209
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 18, 2014, 09:44 PM
Find More Posts by TPfingston
Retired and Lovin' it!
United States, KY, Sturgis
Joined Jul 2007
2,648 Posts
I'm looking forward to your build, Rocketman. I have some small gear that I'd ordered several months ago for a 'someday' build. Best wishes!

Tony
TPfingston is offline Find More Posts by TPfingston
Old Oct 19, 2014, 02:41 PM
Arlington, TX
Joined Dec 2002
608 Posts
I love building small. The trick is to think LIGHT. I have weighed 4 - 5 lb / cubic ft balsa, and I use thinned elmers for glue. its about 1/4 the weight of CA and it will sand nicer. Then use thinned dope, and hopefully it will turn out nice. You end up spending about 6 $ for an airframe. I should have some bones shots tomorrow.
Old Oct 19, 2014, 03:10 PM
Find More Posts by baldguy
I eat glue
Canada, NS, Yarmouth
Joined Jul 2006
3,721 Posts
My favourite rubber peanuts so far are my Voisin Hydroplane, and Dumont 14bis. The Voisin weighs 10 grams, and the 14bis is 9.5 grams.
baldguy is online now Find More Posts by baldguy
Old Oct 20, 2014, 06:34 PM
Find More Posts by PETERRAKE
Norfolk, England
Joined Sep 2001
7,840 Posts