HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:43 PM
United States, CA, Laguna Hills
Joined Feb 2013
13 Posts
Help!
Predator DIY build!!!

Good afternoon everyone!

I'm new to the forum so Ill give an introduction first.
I'm Brandon and located in sunny So Cal. I'm a retired Marine and I own my own business. I have been interested in RC my entire life. I have been flying for about 2 years and in the last 6 month I fly every morning depending on weather for appx 2-3 hrs.

I have had the opportunity to dabble in FPV and some large scale models and loved it!

I preface this with I have NO CAD experience.

Im in the process of designing a Predator inspired model. Not a scale model, just inspiration.

Goal of this model:
Long range FPV.
Used for HD photography and in general fun. Will be flown from a command station.
Range of appx 3-4 Hrs of flight, 40-50 miles (UHF 10W antenna thoughts? What are the laws on long range FPV?) capable of being fully fueled and still hold 15 pounds or so of electronics and video gear and have good climb rate.
Gas model. And from there open to any and all suggestions.

I will attach my current CAD design (its bad again I have no CAD experience) for you to take a look at. (It is to scale to the nearest 1/8in") I built the model with Sketchup Pro.
Wing span of 96 in.
Cord of 23in give or take. Original airfoil used was a AG35 but I made some tweaks to the underside to give better lift characteristics 5 degree AOA.

My math of a 96in wing span at 35 MPH give me appx 450Lbs. of lift. Is that right?
I was looking at 50 LBs of gas at 6lbs a gal. Would it be possible to get a 80LB plane to 35mph? Could we have a launch speed of 15mph maybe even lower? Are my numbers unrealistic.