HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 09, 2008, 11:04 AM
planepainter
Mt. Juliet, TN
Joined Sep 2008
2,001 Posts
Discussion
Radio equip for OLY11

Hello. I am going to build an Oly over the winter and have been all over the internet looking at radios and equip. I have decided on the SPEK DX6i radio. But as I am a beginner, can one of you seasoned pilots please tell me, from your experience, where is the best place to buy the radio (Central Hobbies maybe?)and what servos should I use in this bird? I assume that I will need 3 servos. Rudder, elev, and spoilers.Will standard size be ok? This might save me a lot of time and your suggestions are truly appreciated. Regards, Don.
planepainter is offline Find More Posts by planepainter
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 09, 2008, 11:53 AM
Chandler, Az.
Joined Mar 2008
232 Posts
Radio for OlyII

Planepainter;

Since I stuck my 2 cents in before, Ill do it again, by the way, I highly recommend a four servo set-up on the OlyII; 2-spoilers in wing, 1-rudder, and 1-elevator. With the 6i, I would use sm 22's all around, although full size servos will fit, you want the wing servos as light as possible. As far as where to buy the system, just look around-the price will be the same, but some places give better service than others. I would buy the bare transmitter/receiver package (no servos) and buy the servos separately. You will want a full range receiver-NOT the AR6100! but I think the 6i package comes with the AR6200 which will be fine.

Bob
Sweet-ole-Bob is offline Find More Posts by Sweet-ole-Bob
Old Sep 09, 2008, 12:08 PM
planepainter
Mt. Juliet, TN
Joined Sep 2008
2,001 Posts