SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 07, 2002, 06:19 PM
Sticky Shepherd
Oxford/England
Joined May 2001
4,017 Posts
homebrew cf prop

This is my first attempt at a carbon prop, it's not perfect but not too bad either.

The mould consists of a u80 prop stuck to a plate of ali. The underside of the prop was then filled with epoxy putty which was then cut to form a bevel around the edges of the prop. The prop was also extended with putty to 95mm making it a U95 or something. Ignore the holes around the prop these shouldn't be there and are a relic from a previous mould attempt. I covered them in tape.

The top of the mould was produced by pressing epoxy putty over the male half which had been pretreated with pva release agent. This is a mix of pva glue alcohol and ink. I got mine ready mixed. Could probably use wax, I don't know. Once hard I coated the mould in pva release and trapped two layers of thin CF cloth between the mould halves. These had been brushed with laminating epoxy using a sponge brush. The panels of CF were cut out by making a frame of tape preventing fraying and destortion. I clamped it up and stuck it atop of a radiator to cure for 24hours. After which I spilt the mould and trimmed with scissors. The surface finish wasn't too hot due to the poor surface finish of the mould but it cleaned up ok. I added the hub of a u80 to the centre of the prop to make my life simple. I only hope it works ok.

Not a how-to as the results weren't that good, at least compared to the Aeronutz resident expert Gordon "prop" Brown. But I thought it might inspire others a bit. I only did it as a bit of fun not expecting it to work at all.

Graham

Here's the two mould parts:
Graham Stabler is offline Find More Posts by Graham Stabler
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 07, 2002, 06:20 PM
Sticky Shepherd
Oxford/England
Joined May 2001
4,017 Posts
mould together:
Last edited by Graham Stabler; Mar 08, 2002 at 04:36 AM.
Old Mar 07, 2002, 06:21 PM