HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 18, 2003, 09:20 PM
Chris
Sullivan, MO
Joined Dec 2003
39 Posts
Yippee!
Aerohawk newbie-First flights and impressions

Hello all, I've been diligently reading through this forum for the last few months and finally broke down and bought an Aerohawk. Not the most popular choice I know, but found one with the extras at a good price and thought I'd try it. Mine has the GWS componants and transmitter, and came with the usual spare parts and heatsinks on both motors. I'm a fullsize airplane/helicopter pilot and mechanic, and have flown RC airplanes for 16 years, though not much in the last 4.
Anyway, I got it yesterday and looked it over, seems nicely built, but reminded me of a plastic model, lots of flashing on all the plastic parts. The head was very ratchety from this, as were the ball joints. I dissasembled the head and carefully removed all the flashing and polished the ball joints with 600 paper untill everything was tight, but moved smoothly. I took a little pen oiler with some very light oil in it and put a tiny drop on everything that moved. I thought the main gear mesh was too tight and adjusted it. After what I read, I already ordered a shaft collar and swashplate ball, hope it's here soon. I centered the flybar as best I could and didn't touch the main blades except sand the sharp edges off a little.