HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 05, 2003, 09:43 AM
Fairfield Pa
Joined Jul 2003
42 Posts
tough foldable tigermoth

This is my first attempt at posting a picture. I've found these mods have worked well for combat and easy transport.
Also easier to build.

1.Tail mod. Thin wire glued and taped. Elevator cut to allow more rudder movement.
2.Tail wheel using half a “Klett” hinge. Wire is pinched between control horn.
3.Landing gear mod. Reinforced tape is wrapped as shown. By taping the gear, flexing is reduced and the gear no longer breaks the fuselage. Also, the gear is removable.
4.A piece of bidirectional fiberglass tape is wrapped around the bottom of the fuselage and up both sides to surround the wing dowels at both front and rear dowel locations. This prevents the dowels from being ripped out by the wings. The front tape also encloses the gear opening. Holes are punched through the tape for dowels and a single slit is cut for the gear. The gear is held in by the tape only. Rubber bands are permanently taped to the rear dowels.
5.˝” wide bidirectional tape is applied around the leading and trailing edge of the lower wing. This forms the hinge for folding.
6.A simple tab with a pin or plastic bolt is glued to one side. A plastic washer with a hole is glued to the other wing. The bolt simply pops in place at the correct dihedral angle. This is used for negative loading also. The single thread handles all positive loads.(13)
7.Lower wing shown folded. The bolt pops in place automatically. To fold, the tab is simply lifted
8.Upper wing is taped in a similar manner to lower wing.
9.The tape allows folding and also supports the rubber bands that attach the upper wing.
10.Slots for taping the outer struts.
11.The tape is applied to the struts and then a flat plastic “needle” pulls the tape through a slot punched through the wing.