Thread: Discussion Marblehead Racing
View Single Post
Old Jun 14, 2012, 12:26 PM
breakwater is offline
Find More Posts by breakwater
Registered User
United States, MA, Wenham
Joined Jan 2007
1,668 Posts
Originally Posted by Dick L. View Post

While a set of old boat original plans will easily position the boat in a specific category in the class - I would like to see some further discussion on what dimensions would place a new hull design into which category. Does a skinny boat automatically move it to the newer category of boats or is there a combination of various measurements and materials used that would determine it's fate? I know there have been "category" names dropped (not sure what to call them - and not trying to venture from the 50/800 designation) so it would be helpful if those who have held on to the class could provide a bit more detail on how or when/why a yacht, 50 inches long with 800 square inches of sail area is categorized.

The point is, whether Traditional, High-Flyer, Classic or Modern. ALL of these boats are Marblehead class boats before they are anything else. First we need to establish that.
A kevlar 50/800 is an M, same as a Pine & casien glue Madcap 50/800 is an M.
The only difference is the manner in which they are scored in regattas.

As of now, there are no clearly defined categories for each "Version" of M.

There are just a whole bunch of watered-down fragments in different places, and people not working together.
The Modern M nationals are in San Francisco.
The Traditional, and High-Flyer M Nationals are at Redds pond.

The Classic M nationals are supposed to be at Redds, but the current proposition is to sail them SEPERATLEY from the rest of the group.. (???)

I would argue that a Marblehead Nationals, is a Marblehead nationals.
This involves sailing all boats, (and obviously scoring seperatley based on "competition" level)

It's in the class' best interest to drop the boxing gloves and nit-picking over boats, and just sail something "Close enough" to get going!

NOTHING is set-in-stone here, but A general rule of thumb for the four "varieties of M" are:

-Traditional M. (Lead behind keel, Keel or skeg Rudder, 1” Garboard Radius)
-High-Flyer M. (Lead behind keel, Spade or balanced Rudder, 1” Garboard Radius)
-Classic M (Balanced lead, spade or balanced rudder)
-Modern M (Kevlar/Carbon construction, balanced lead, Spade or balanced rudder.)
breakwater is offline Find More Posts by breakwater
Reply With Quote