RC Groups

RC Groups
    Electric Heli Talk
        Discussion spektrum radio...gliches and cutouts

#1 kogibankole Nov 04, 2006 02:44 PM

spektrum radio...gliches and cutouts
 
I just came back from the balloon fiesta field here in Albuquerque and some guy flying spektrum crashed his airplane because of a radio glitch. I have my 30 size heli and a 100mph twin jet on that radio and im starting to doubt is reliability. Has anyone experienced anything similar to this? Any inputs whatsoever would be greatly appreciated.
Marc

#2 Serg Nov 04, 2006 03:31 PM

I sold my 72MHz transmitter and switched to 2.4GHz completely. I have been using my "spectrumized" JR6102 and Spectrum receivers in two planes and 3 helicopters since February. I have not had any problems whatsoever (neither in a park nor at flying field).

Sergey

#3 mjdee14 Nov 04, 2006 03:51 PM

we have several club members using them at our field...and we are "prone to Hits" on several freq's and not one Spektrum has had a glitch....

I have changed freq several times with my Hitech optic6 looking for a good freq...

I even had to go to a PCM rcvr to ensure my heli was fairly safe after getting "Hit" several times.

I can't wait for Hitec to come with a 2.4 or higher module....


Mike

#4 cptsnoopy Nov 04, 2006 06:01 PM

I will no longer fly anything more expensive than a "parkflier" style of model with my 6102DX. Marc, check out this thread: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=588918 This was after many totally glitch free flights. This particular flight, I had a couple of moments where I felt the heli was responding late then after approx 5 minutes, total shutdown of the AR-6000. :(

#5 thanhTran Nov 04, 2006 11:22 PM

I've not gotten any troubles. I have 4 helis (Swift, 2 Trex'es, & minizoom), all use Spektrum

#6 TMorita Nov 05, 2006 01:32 AM

This has been said before, but it sounds like it needs to be said again.

This is like wearing wrapping your computer in a condom to protect it from viruses.

A spread spectrum transmitter does not protect you from giltches (wideband interference).
All it does is prevent you from being interfered with by a transmitter on a single frequency (narrowband interference).

Toshi

#7 thanhTran Nov 05, 2006 02:41 AM

That's a good way to put it :).

It may require some good grounding. I had belt static which interferes the Spektrum once. Grounding the boom worked fine for me: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...+with+spektrum

Thanh

#8 crxef9 Nov 05, 2006 10:38 AM

DX7

and for those still with the 72mhz , try the berg 7 rx . way better than pcm

#9 macbrush Nov 05, 2006 01:40 PM

I had a couple of crashes before that caused by AR-6000 cutoff. But all of them was due to the BEC voltage drop below 4V (AR-6000 will shutdown if voltage is below 4V, it will usually come back on again when voltage goes above 4V afterwards, but sometimes it doesn't, probably due to voltage cascade too much and hang the software.). All problems solved after given up on the Phoenix built-in BEC, and replaced by a switched mode BEC.

#10 kogibankole Nov 05, 2006 03:29 PM

what bec do you use?...thanhTran???

#11 cptsnoopy Nov 05, 2006 06:11 PM

my shutdown was most likely not caused by low voltage. I was using a freshly charged relatively new NiMH 5cell 1500mah battery. I am thinking that mine was more from noise being generated by the helicopter itself but that is pure spectulation.

#12 kogibankole Nov 05, 2006 06:20 PM

cptsoopy...how many digitals were you usinga dnd uring what part of a manuver did this occur?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.