RC Groups

RC Groups
    Electric Plane Talk
        Yippee! MPX Twinstar II maidened today!!

#1 Chetto1965 Feb 06, 2006 07:42 AM

MPX Twinstar II maidened today!!
 
Hi all

I maidened my new Twinstar II today... I'm very very satisfied by it!!!

Usually I fly with GWS Formosa and Alfa P51 and I started to build it not very interested because I was thinking isn't fun like others two ones... Great mistake!!!!

It fly like a dream, glide forever (and I really means forever!) very easy to land and very fast and agile when you want!

My config is:

MIG 400 12V engines
stock prop (white Gunther, 5,5x4,5 I think)
Jeti 30A
2S1P 2000mAh Kokam

20min flytime at 1/2 throttle... and a lot of power...

I'm waiting for Graupner CAM Speed Pro 5,5x5,5 props.... (ordered since 1 week)

It's very nice in the sky... it's "Important" in the air with its dimensions... it seems a real plane!!!

I think it's a good plane for all... novice, intermediate, advanced pilots... it will be able to fun everyone...

Bye

Andrea

#2 skyking1231 Feb 06, 2006 09:12 AM

Mig 400 12V motors? Who makes them....I never hear of them.


I see yours glides alot too. Have you tried flarperons or something ot this degree. It's great that it glides....but when landing it i want it to come down at a steeper decent angle. I have used flaperons, but still have to work the elevator trim part when using the flaperons.


Anyway enjoy!!! It is a surprisingly easy palne, and fun to fly.
I have graupner 480 7.2v brushed motors, with slim cam 6x6 props, 3slipo 4000mah. I hold altitude at 20% throttle. way overpowered.

#3 Chetto1965 Feb 06, 2006 11:05 AM

Hi Skyking

MIG400 motors are brushed motors made by MEGA Motor:

http://www.megamotor.cz/new/script/m...e&language=eng

they are designed specially to work with 3 Lipo...

I hold altitude at 30% throttle....

I've flaperons but I don't use them on landing for now... with 10% throttle you can land on your foots!!!! :)

One question (my curiosity)... where you can fly at Long Island NY????? I think you have to do a lot of miles to find open spaces.... is it right? ;)

Bye

Andrea

#4 skyking1231 Feb 06, 2006 04:32 PM

Although Long Island is a pain in the A$$. There are plenty of places. Mainly i just use schools. Soccer feild places like that. Just have to go when school is out. If it wasn't for electrics....i wouldn't have gotten back in to R/C planes. Gas/nito are being pushed off the island or way out east.

Have you put a landing gear on yours? I have one on mine, with a steerable nose gear. But i am looking for better designs for the nose gear than mine. mine works well, but need to be a little mor stiffer.

Anyhow....Happy Flying :)

#5 David A Feb 06, 2006 04:33 PM

Well done Andrea, like you say anyone can have fun with a twinstar :)

#6 David Hipperson Feb 06, 2006 07:30 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Thought you might like this.

#7 kdk Feb 06, 2006 07:40 PM

i love mine it flys so nice. yes glides like crazy, so i set up flaperons and mixed in some elevator. big difference. i have the 480 motors and apc 5x5 props and landing gear. sweet flying airplane.

#8 Jeremy Z Feb 06, 2006 08:12 PM

Mine's still got the original speed 400 motors. An 8 cell 9.6 V 3600 mAh NiMH pack. (heavy)

How much of a difference do the speed 480 motors make?

I was thinking of going brushless, but if the speed 480s make a noticeable difference, I might save a few bucks and go that route.

I've got 5x5 props on it now. I can only fly it on calm days, but it goes 22-27 minutes!

I set up a flaperon mix too. I don't like it because it makes the plane dive so much. (I probably have too much programmed in) and I don't want to jerk around with a mix.

I just got used to starting my approach further back, and then it is only one glide length to remember.

I might try a bit less flaperon mix at some future date though...

If you just got your TwinStar 2, you should look up the "official" thread in the Foamies forum. It's like 78 pages long and is packed with good info.

#9 Chetto1965 Feb 07, 2006 05:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by skyking1231

Have you put a landing gear on yours? I have one on mine, with a steerable nose gear. But i am looking for better designs for the nose gear than mine. mine works well, but need to be a little mor stiffer.

I don' have landing gear.... I think I can gain flytime without it and gain speed

Bye

Andrea

#10 skyking1231 Feb 07, 2006 09:59 AM

I never flew the TS II with the stock 400's. But from the video i have seen with the stock 400's, the 480's is a big improvement. I have a 3s lipo 4000. With that battery all the way back in the batt bay, it comes out perfectly balanced wit the 480's. No "dead" weight in my plane. IT came out lighter than the stock weight specs. But i forgot how much.

Brushless is probably better....but then you have to get two esc...and motors can be a lot of $$$$. With the 480's I get long run times, being that i am usually flying at very low throttle settings. I use the slim cam 6x6.3 props.

#11 David A Feb 08, 2006 01:09 AM

Hey, real Twinstar flyers do it without - I don't need landing gear for a touch and go :cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.