RC Groups

RC Groups
    Micro Ready-to-Fly
        Discussion X-Twin, Aeroace - post your mods - part 2

#1 micro_builder Jan 04, 2006 04:44 PM

X-Twin, Aeroace - post your mods - part 2
 
1 Attachment(s)
well the first Mod thread made it to over 1000 posts, so it seemed like a good idea to start a 2nd one to help cut down on all the wading. i've got nothing to add at this point, but the most updated version of the .txt file. keep 'em comin folks.

first mod thread: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=401484

here's the website that has my TXT file converted to HTML. no more copy and pasting links! :) http://www.eflightwiki.com/eflightw...Airhogs_AeroAce

nick

edit: i'll continually update the TXT file when new mods or planes have been made and posted. should make things easier.

#2 Darkdevil_725 Jan 04, 2006 04:57 PM

good thinking you will see mine soon enough here and in my reynolds posting thread.

#3 troyboy162 Jan 04, 2006 07:26 PM

just a bump for this thread and blatent ad

ive got a red biplane b channel with a busted rx that im taking back tommorow to TrU unless some one really needs some parts. ive got to get at lest $27 (my pending refund) for the whole thing so make an offer on the parts or the whole

#4 micro_builder Jan 04, 2006 08:18 PM

quote "Ronmar1 - My charger shows charged when trying to charge through the built in charge connector, even though the battery is discharged." post 1003 - 1005 http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...&page=67&pp=15

i found this problem too. i'm guessing there's something in the way between the charging socket on the plane and the battery, probably a chip of some sort. it seems to only allow the same input voltage and amperage rating as the stock TX charger (i guess techincally, if you knew the exact voltage and amperage, you could try to make your own charger match it and see if that worked).

unfortunately though, there's no way to access the lipo without getting into the plane. if you split the nose open a ways, you can get to the lipo. all it'll need is a little snip of the battery wires, solder on your own connectors to it, and charge away. i did this about a week after getting the X-Twins, i didnt want to drain TX batteries, and i never really trust those TX style charger, most seem to never charge 100% correct. plus i've read that the TX charger charges at over the normally recommended 1C rating, so it'll charge faster. its obviously safe, as none have exploded, but i would'nt be surprised if it lowers the batteries life a little bit.

nick

#5 Hotflyer Jan 04, 2006 10:05 PM

my two aero aces have developed a strange stopping and starting habit like there is a bad battery connection or something. I checked the connections and they both look good. Used multiple txs also and same prob. Anyone else have this problem???? :confused:

#6 Slowhand_47 Jan 05, 2006 12:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by micro_builder
i found this problem too. i'm guessing there's something in the way between the charging socket on the plane and the battery, probably a chip of some sort.

There's a diode in the battery line as a protection against wrong polarity, and the Tx loader circuit is adapted to this. A standard lipo loader will always see a battery voltage that is one diode voltage drop too big, so it's fooled into thinking the battery is already full.

You can remove that diode and put it into the Tx' charging cable, but then you have to do this mod to all your planes if you still want to use the Tx charger. Or you simply add a new connector directly to the battery line.

#7 hoppy Jan 05, 2006 07:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hotflyer
my two aero aces have developed a strange stopping and starting habit like there is a bad battery connection or something. I checked the connections and they both look good. Used multiple txs also and same prob. Anyone else have this problem???? :confused:

Were you by chance flying in an area with other 27mhz TX's in operation? That's where I experienced that kind of problem. As soon as the plane got more than perhaps 20' away from me the plane's motors would quit. 3 other guys had 27mhz stuff out there...a tank, and 2 slo flyers. All I can figure is that there TX,s were flooding my Rx.

#8 ronmar1 Jan 05, 2006 08:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Slowhand_47
There's a diode in the battery line as a protection against wrong polarity, and the Tx loader circuit is adapted to this. A standard lipo loader will always see a battery voltage that is one diode voltage drop too big, so it's fooled into thinking the battery is already full.

You can remove that diode and put it into the Tx' charging cable, but then you have to do this mod to all your planes if you still want to use the Tx charger. Or you simply add a new connector directly to the battery line.

Thanks Slowhand_47. I knew there must be a good explanation. I having so much fun with the AA as is, I hate to start cutting on it now, but I'd love to be able to use my std. lipo charger.

All the tx battery mods are nice and I've looked at those also. The price of alkalines are eating me alive right now soooo I guess I'll be pulling out the exacto soon for some (hopefully) minor surgery on my AA, and remove a troublesome diode.

Anyone know the correct mah rating for the AA lipo?

Ron

#9 Graham Smith Jan 05, 2006 08:12 AM

I seem to remember reading in thread 'one' somewhere, that they were 130mAh size lipoly cells in the 'plane'

The other Graham

#10 StephanB Jan 05, 2006 08:15 AM

Another x-twin mod/ detachable wing
 
6 Attachment(s)
Hi,
first let me say, that i feel like a beginner again since Harpye shows us his beauties. But, as i will never reach his level, i show meanwhile what i have.

This is my first attempt with graphics printed on paper japonais. Gordon Johnson published this design somewhere.
I decided to scale it up to 120 percent, which leads to a span of 53 centimetres and a final weight of 29,60 gramms. The weight is not a problem, because with this higher weight i have a nice controlled decent at the lowest throttle setting.

This plane has a detachable wing. The connectors to the motors are also responsible for holding the wing in place, a little magnet assists. In case of hard landing the wing will come off without damage. Guess, how i know... :rolleyes:

Here's a little 4MB video of the maiden flight:
http://stephanb.rchomepage.com/videos/X-mbs.wmv

Stephan :)

#11 ronmar1 Jan 05, 2006 08:46 AM

Thanks Graham Smith. I had an idea it would be around a 120 mah.

Ron

#12 epilot Jan 05, 2006 11:34 AM

Stephan, the link does not seem to work.

Michael

#13 hoppy Jan 05, 2006 01:17 PM

"Stephan, the link does not seem to work."

OH, I thought it was just a really, really fast plane.

#14 wrapperworm Jan 05, 2006 02:03 PM

hiya guys,
i broken my plane but no am buying a new lipo and 2 new motors, but i aint sure what lipo i need, i think a 145Mah sud be ok, and what kinda glue shud i use to put it back together??

thanks

#15 StephanB Jan 05, 2006 03:32 PM

Sorry friends, can't repair the broken videolink in my above posting.
rcgroups hosted websites are down.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=459541
Please try later.
Stephan


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.