RC Groups

RC Groups
    Foamies (Kits)
        zagi advice, questions, answers

#1 easy2fly Apr 19, 2002 09:16 PM

zagi advice, questions, answers
 
i know there have been alot of posts on the zagi and modifications for it. I just wanted to get one post where one, whether it be a begginer or pro modeler, can find any info on the zagi. I would like some tips on stepping up my zagi for more speed, lighter overall weight, and POWER. so if you want to post any comment one the zagi for any aspect of it( or questions) feel free to do so here.

#2 Gonflyin01 Apr 19, 2002 09:33 PM

Well....Buy a RAZOR. All problems solved :D

#3 RICH S Apr 19, 2002 09:58 PM

Zagi Stuff
 
There are many mods, covering with Ultracoat, brushless and cobalt motors etc. seem to be the most common. I fly mine stock with the Trick 1400 batts., replace the $8.00 motor once in a while, and I run a MAS 5.5X4.5 prop and a Graupner spinner assembly, works real nice. The sky is the limit for these, heck, I put a Norvel AME .061 glow motor on the back of one and it was ballistic!

#4 mtayl Apr 19, 2002 11:02 PM

Hmmm. Goodness, there are tons of things that can be done to a Zagi. What you are asking for is what I'm attempting to do at www.yourzagi.com but there is just so much of it to document. Well, I try...anyways, I'll certainly be watching this thread, but if you haven't checked these sites out then you should:
www.yourzagi.com
www.clubzagi.com
http://users2.ev1.net/~nbad/zagi_mods.htm and there are lots more out there to find. Most of them I have tried to locate at http://www.yourzagi.com/links.htm but if you find some more, please let me know. :)

Hey Rich, do you still fly that glow beast?

#5 kushal_22 Apr 19, 2002 11:06 PM

Try www.yourzagi.com lots of intersting stuff there.

#6 easy2fly Apr 20, 2002 10:25 AM

i have trimmed my zagi about 2 1/2 in at each tip for speed reasons. I am using the stock motor and the 1400 AE battery as well. I have been using the original motor for a year now and i just bought a new one and have yet to fly it with the new one in it. i was thinking of using a speed 600 but i dont think the same electrical equipm,ent could be used as the speed 400.
Jeff

#7 kushal_22 Apr 20, 2002 10:56 AM

You would have to get a larger AMP ESC 20 to 25 AMP should do just fine.

#8 crashman Apr 20, 2002 11:05 AM

I am still flying my learning 400. I added carbon rods and got rid of most of the strapping tape, bigger batteries and covered it with Ultracote. Very rigid, never flaps.

I also an Astro 020, which makes a huge difference. You will not get much in the way of speed increases since you must quadruple your thrust in order to double your speed. However, with the right prop you can see a huge power or endurance increase. The APC Windsor 5.5 x 4 gives good endurance with a noticeable increase in power. The AeroNaut 6.5 x 4 and 6 x 5 props show a dramatic power increase (static current draw just over 18 amps). I can climb out at 70 degrees from a hand launch and loops are huge (probably four times the diameter if my stock Zagi). I am using the Zagi 1700 mAh and some eflighpacks 1300 mAhs.

Tony

#9 easy2fly Apr 20, 2002 11:05 AM

it sure would cruise with the speed 600. what flight times would you estimate with the 1400AE batt at about 3/4 to full throttle throughtout the flight?
Jeff

#10 funflyer Apr 20, 2002 06:17 PM

Another site
 
Heres a good site for flying tips at http://www.rocketwings.com/personaltips.htm

#11 easy2fly Apr 20, 2002 06:58 PM

my friend used carbon fiber tape on his zagi400 and it was very strong. is the wieght worth the strength? Also has anyone covered their zagis with film? im thinkin about doing this and would like some info. any pics of your zagi?
Jeff

#12 mtayl Apr 20, 2002 10:57 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Tape is kind of a pain since you normally need to use an adhesive such as epoxy to apply it. This adds weight. An easier way is to order some CF tubes or rods. Ultracote (film) covering is easy. Check out http://www.yourzagi.com/covering.htm if you want to see some pictures. Here's an old one that I did with Ultracote

#13 HavingFun2002 Apr 21, 2002 07:38 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by easy2fly
my friend used carbon fiber tape on his zagi400 and it was very strong. is the wieght worth the strength? Also has anyone covered their zagis with film? im thinkin about doing this and would like some info. any pics of your zagi?
Jeff

Where can you get carbon fiber tape?

#14 alistairg Apr 21, 2002 08:54 AM

You can get CF tape from Hobby-Lobby.

I think that the tape mounted on the surface of the wing would have a better mechanical advantage than a rod embedded in the wing.

--
alistair

#15 mtayl Apr 21, 2002 09:31 AM

Maybe. It depends on where you put it and what kind it is. Most of the CF tape that I have is a loose collection of CF fibers that need some sort of cohesive bonding to make it stiff. It's best property is that you cannot stretch it. Think of a bunch of thread bound loosely together that won't break, then imagine where you would put it on the Zagi.

Most of the problems with the Zagi's are with the 'Flap' which results in the wingtips being violently raised to meet each other over the wing cord line. A CF spar across the top in a bow shaped arrangement (smiley face) is a common solution. Where tape might be worth experimenting with is running it across the bottom. Since it won't stretch it might help keep the wing from bowing upwards during high speed passes.

So tape might easier to apply, but I'm wondering where it would do the most good. I'm not a mechanical engineer, but I would think that unless you had every millimeter of the tape secure, then the only place it would work for you is on the bottom because of it's lack of stretchiness.

I started to play with flat CF's from www.airdyn.com and had great success. Easy to install, just cut a slit and push it in. You need to make sure the foam around it presses against it so it holds it's shape. I've used them for emergency flap repairs and it worked great. There's a picture of it at http://www.yourzagi.com/mods.htm#cf I'm glad the tape subject came up though. I'm tempted to try some on the bottom of my next one with a smiley CF on the top.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.