RC Groups

RC Groups
    Sailplane Talk
        "Ultra-Thermo" glider on Ebay... Anyone tried this?

#1 rc_ron Oct 27, 2004 08:28 PM

"Ultra-Thermo" glider on Ebay... Anyone tried this?
 
1 Attachment(s)
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...928877881&rd=1

has anyone tried this glider?

what are your opinions?

#2 OzDragonFlyer Oct 28, 2004 09:58 PM

fuse is from gel coated glass which is good..not crappy ABS. Good for the slope.

Using an older eppler airfoil but the E193 was popular in it's time and is a good section for floaters.

Looks ok though... I just purchased one :) I don't think I could buy the raw balsa/covering materials locally for this price..

Just hope the wing is twist-free!

#3 rc_ron Oct 29, 2004 06:56 AM

i bought one also and i'm still waiting for it....

i had the same thoughts about the price.

#4 rc_ron Oct 29, 2004 09:18 PM

5 Attachment(s)
The Ultra-Thermo from RVM arrived today!

Here's whats in the box. I dont have time to put it together fully, but just looking over what came in the box I'd give it a 4/5 for quality and a 3/5 for quality vs cost.

I think I paid about $45 on ebay but shipping from Hong Kong was $25.

I'll provide more details later.

For now, here are some pics...

#5 rc_ron Oct 29, 2004 09:19 PM

4 Attachment(s)
here are some more..

#6 Thomas Wang Oct 30, 2004 09:52 AM

Hi RC_Ron,

I have the same glider as yours, it is made in China, about $40 here, some points you should pay attentation:

1. Re-glue the tailboom and the pod,
2. modify the tip wing panel, you should increase the angle between the tip panel and the center pannel, otherwise it is difficult to turn.
3. Add gusset between vertical tail and horizontal tail, and add some more epoxy between horizontal tail and tail boom.
4. Add washout

http://www.ampnetconnect.com.cn/mp/01/p01.JPG

http://www.ampnetconnect.com.cn/mp/01/p02.JPG

http://www.ampnetconnect.com.cn/mp/01/p03.JPG

http://www.ampnetconnect.com.cn/mp/01/p04.JPG

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/attac...d=311137&stc=1

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/attac...d=311138&stc=1

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/attac...d=311139&stc=1

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/attac...d=311141&stc=1

#7 rc_ron Oct 30, 2004 03:33 PM

thanks for the tips thomas,

but what is "washout"?

#8 redietz Oct 30, 2004 09:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rc_ron
thanks for the tips thomas,

but what is "washout"?

Assuming you're not being sarcastic:

A twist in the wings so that the tips are at a lower angle of attack than the root. In other words, if you were to lay the tip panel flat on a flat surface, the trailing edge would be raised a bit a the tip end. Since I'm not familiar with this particular plane, I don't know how much "a bit" is, but start out trying between 1/8" and 1/4".

The purpose of washout is to prevent tip-stalls, by allowing the middle of the wing to stall before the tips.

Bob

#9 OzDragonFlyer Oct 31, 2004 02:26 AM

Looks great! What radio gear will fit in it? What other hardware is needed to complete it?

The pod & boom looks so compact/lightweight.. an newer section aileron wing would turn it into a real performer...

Thanks for the pics & tips, looking forward to receiving mine soon.. woohoo...!

#10 rc_ron Oct 31, 2004 12:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by redietz
Assuming you're not being sarcastic ...

Bob

Nope. I was serious. This is my first recent glider (I built and destroyed 2 House of Balsa 2x4's in my early teens since that was all I could afford at the time...) Thanks for the info. I may have to "invest" in an iron ;)

Ron

#11 rc_ron Oct 31, 2004 01:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OzDragonFlyer
...What radio gear will fit in it? What other hardware is needed to complete it?

Oz, I'll be using HS55 servos and maybe a small Berg receiver.

It looks like it comes with the essentials.

The control rods provided are cheesy, so I'll be replacing those.

Also the control surfaces are tapped only on one side which restricts the range of motion in one direction. I'll probably pull the tape off and put in some real hinges.

Also, I will probably get some nylon screws to bolt the wing to the fuselage. The photo on eBay shows the wing bolted on but it actually comes with rubber bands and instructions for that route -- ie. no bolts.

I'll have to rig up a rubber band or velcro to keep the canopy on.

#12 rc_ron Oct 31, 2004 01:08 PM

Thomas,

Did you glue your wing halves together?

I'm planning on keeping mine separable for transport and I'm not sure if I need to do anything special to keep them from separating in flight....

#13 aeajr Oct 31, 2004 02:51 PM

I have a Spirit with separate wing halves. I use clear packing tape to join them at the field. Super strong, eas to cut or remove.

#14 OzDragonFlyer Oct 31, 2004 04:33 PM

cool ron.. I might go for those ultra tiny JR/NES servos, or even pico's. The only problem I can see having is getting a small enough battery pack locally to fit in the pod.. have you sorted this out yet?

What are the rods made from?

#15 rc_ron Oct 31, 2004 07:16 PM

I dont know much about gliders so I'm not sure how big a battery I need to run 2 servos. Anyone know how many mah's most people use?

In one of the pics above you can see a wood piece that is a servo tray. That fits snuggly into the nose of the plane making a platform that the battery can be strapped to. They include zip ties for this purpose.

Pico's sound good and I might do the same. I just ordered a Berg5 receiver for it that I'll swap with another plane.

The control rods that came with it were just white plastic "wires" with thin outer blue plastic tubes. The white plastic wires have a metal wire taped to the end to connect to the servos. I would go for this if there was a big weight difference but I suspect just using thin piano wires will be stiffer and lighter.

I'm looking forward to trying it out! Maybe next weekend if the weather cooperates....


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.