RC Groups

RC Groups
    DIY Electronics
        Question Change RC dual switch to triple switch ?

#1 Stephan OL Feb 05, 2013 11:14 PM

Change RC dual switch to triple switch ?
 
Hi,

I have a very cheap RC "Carson LCD 6" - six channels.

Channel #5 has a simple dual-switch (on / off).

I want to change this dual-switch to a triple-switch (off / function 1 / function 2).

The sticks have potentiometers so the idea is to put a resistor to one pin of the switch, so I should have this three switch conditions:

off (no connection)
function 1 (with resistor)
function 2 (connection = no resistance)

Could this idea work?

If yes, witch resistance should do have the resistor?

----

Sorry for the doublepost in the radio forum.

#2 Bruce Abbott Feb 06, 2013 05:12 AM

The "Carson LCD 6" appears to be a re-badged Art-Tech E-FLY 100C.

Unfortunately I doubt that you will be able to get the result you want, because the switch is probably connected to a digital input that only detects 2 positions.

#3 Stephan OL Feb 06, 2013 06:51 PM

Ok, thank you. Probably I just try it, if i get a medium value with a resistor.

#4 Marion Feb 07, 2013 10:14 AM

I tried that years ago with a Futaba transmitter. It would not work because the input to the encoder for that channel was, as others suggested, a digital ON-OFF input -- no analog capability. Maybe your transmitter is different. Let us all know how and if it works for you.

Marion

#5 Stephan OL Feb 07, 2013 10:46 AM

I measured the values from the potis. They have 0 - 1700 Ohm.

So I bought some resistors with ca. 500, 750, 1000, 1250 and 1500 Ohm.

I'll try it tonight and post the results.

#6 Stephan OL Feb 07, 2013 08:59 PM

You are right. Its only a digital on / off input. its not possible to change it to triple input. :-(


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.