RC Groups

RC Groups
    Castle Creations
        Discussion Multi motor programming Joe or Bernie ?

#1 Gene Feb 01, 2013 11:57 PM

Multi motor programming Joe or Bernie ?
 
I recall reading an article by Joe Ford a few years back on how to set up two Phoenix ESC's to control two motors. There were certain settings that you would program the two controllers to and these settings would apply to both ESC's. I printed the information out, but of course, I can't find it now. I'm programming two Phoenix 35's to power two motors on a B-25. Joe, could you direct me to where that article is on your Castle Creations site or would you list those settings here, so that I can proceed with this project. Thank you.

#2 RC Man Feb 02, 2013 04:59 AM

Maybe some of the guys at the Scale Forum can help – give them a try.

#3 Gene Feb 02, 2013 09:25 AM

Thank you RC Man. I'll look there too.

#4 David Hogue Feb 02, 2013 12:50 PM

Gene,

The pdf that Joe wrote that info in is no longer on the Castle site, but I found the info here, posted below as well as the link I found the info at:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ighlight=multi

Quote:


A typical twin set up is:

• One ESC for each motor Y harnessed on the receiver, both BECS enabled.
• One large battery Y harnessed to the ESCS, keeps the same voltage to each ESC
• Change ‘Throttle Type’ to ‘Fixed’
• Change ‘Cut Off Type’ to ‘Soft Cut Off’

The goal here is to keep both motors running at the same speed and to not have one cut off completely at ‘Low Voltage Cut Off.’

Bernie
Quote:

Joe added:

Current limiting disabled as well.

#5 Gene Feb 02, 2013 05:25 PM

David thanks. That sounds like what I had read a while back. Joe Ford recommended "Current limiting disabled as well". I was going blind trying to figure out where to find that information. You found it. Great job on your part. Really appreciate it. I owe you a beer.

#6 David Hogue Feb 02, 2013 11:25 PM

Wierd, I was sure I copy/pasted Joes "Current limiting disabled " part too. Its added now. I have done several twins with castle esc's so I have a hard copy somewhere too. Posting here will no doubt help me sometime in the future when I need toreference it, too:)

#7 Gene Feb 03, 2013 07:29 AM

Same thing happenend to me when I tried to print it.

#8 Bernie Wolfard Feb 13, 2013 11:39 AM

Unless you are running your systems to there maximum capability, I.E. 50 amps at full throttle on an ICE 50, there is no need to turn of or change Current Limiting. Joe is a speed freak and always pushed system to and past their limits.

Bernie

#9 Gene Feb 13, 2013 02:22 PM

Bernie, I don't plan to run my ESC's up to the max allowable Amps. I'm using Phoenix 35's and drawing about 15 Amps per motor.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.