RC Groups

RC Groups
    FPV Talk
        Question Noob FPV Question

#1 Orion Pax Jan 19, 2013 03:33 PM

Noob FPV Question
 
OK, so I bought this setup from FPVHobby.com

http://www.fpvhobby.com/143-sub-nano-combo-set.html

I have this receiver.

http://www.fpvhobby.com/57-4-ghz-8-ch-a-v-receiver.html

I soldered everything up according to the website last night. I plugged it in to try it out and I will get a signal every once and a while and it is a really badly scrambled black and white video signal. It is brief and random when I get the signal. I am using a 1s 120mAh lipo and the camera and transmitter components are getting hot.

Any idea what I did wrong and what I need to do to make this thing work?

Thanks,
Orion

#2 omer921 Jan 19, 2013 04:46 PM

The problem is that the video is being transmitted on a 2.4ghz signal. You bought a 5.8ghz receiver. You need a 2.4ghz receiver like this: http://www.fpvhobby.com/57-4-ghz-8-ch-a-v-receiver.html

#3 Orion Pax Jan 19, 2013 04:49 PM

Sorry, I linked the wrong one. I do have the 2.4 receiver you linked.

#4 LowlyElevated Jan 19, 2013 04:51 PM

Dou you have an anntenna on the reciever??

#5 omer921 Jan 19, 2013 05:01 PM

You also might be on the wrong receiver channel, you need to set it to 2468mhz (channel 4) because the transmitter you bought only broadcasts on that signal.

#6 Orion Pax Jan 19, 2013 05:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Waffleman (Post 23864811)
Dou you have an anntenna on the reciever??

Yes I do.

Quote:

Originally Posted by omer921 (Post 23864903)
You also might be on the wrong receiver channel, you need to set it to 2468mhz (channel 4) because the transmitter you bought only broadcasts on that signal.

It doesn't even blip on channel 4. If I put it on Channel 1 or 8 I will get the random scrambled image.

#7 omer921 Jan 20, 2013 11:13 AM

Can you send a picture of your setup? Maybe you have a cold solder, or you connected one of the wires to the wrong.

#8 Orion Pax Jan 20, 2013 12:27 PM

Here is a pic.

http://i121.photobucket.com/albums/o...ps8c31daa2.jpg

It may look like the positive and negative wires are touching on the transmitter board but they are not. There is no way anything is cold soldered. The camera board was easy. They at least had solder on that board ready to go. I did have trouble with the transmitter board and I think they should have put solder on that one too to make my life easier. With a large picture like this I can see that the chip behind the positive wire looks to have heat damage. Chances are that with all the mucking around I had to do to get the wires soldered to the transmitter board, I may have gotten that chip too hot.

Thoughts?

#9 omer921 Jan 20, 2013 12:43 PM

Everything is soldered correctly, personally I would try to resolder the positive and negative and cover all the solder connections with tape or something in order to prevent a short circuit. You can also try to connect the camera to a DVR or something that would allow you to check if the camera is working properly. Also try to contact FPV Hobby, they may have better answers.

#10 Orion Pax Jan 20, 2013 12:53 PM

I don't own a DVR so not sure how that will work. I was trying to set it up through my laptop but the D60 Easycap I bought had a warped disk so I could not get the program to load.

I have tried to contact FPV Hobby several times short of making the international call and I never get any responses. Not to pleased with them right now.

#11 nanobot9000 Jan 21, 2013 12:44 PM

FPVHobby frustration
 
Glad to find this post, but sorry you are having trouble. I just got a sub-nano unit at the holidays and experimented with a few different gauges of wire as my boards got rather warm too. I do not have any shorts and have good solder connections. The camera works great with my TMART 4-ch USB DVR and I have a good picture, but I am concerned about the heat. I have isolated the boards to eliminate shorts but no change. I thought maybe it was my smaller gauge wire that I had used to keep it as light as possible. I emailed FPVHobby at least 4 times and have not had any reply. I like the product, but bad customer service for sure!

Mike

#12 RuralFPV Jan 21, 2013 06:04 PM

@ nano & Orion

Did either of you EVER connect power to the TX without an antenna hooked up?

And nano, Vtx's get warm. They get REAL warm for a few seconds without an antenna, that's right before they burn themselves up. :) Some RF TX'ers have two stages of amplification (not sure about tiny TX like these) or more. With no antenna you burn out the last output stage but it's driver is still working. From a few feet you'd get a faint signal from that driver....

#13 LowlyElevated Jan 21, 2013 08:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RuralFPV (Post 23885738)
@ nano & Orion

Did either of you EVER connect power to the TX without an antenna hooked up?

And nano, Vtx's get warm. They get REAL warm for a few seconds without an antenna, that's right before they burn themselves up. :) Some RF TX'ers have two stages of amplification (not sure about tiny TX like these) or more. With no antenna you burn out the last output stage but it's driver is still working. From a few feet you'd get a faint signal from that driver....

at this scale, the anntenna comes pre-soldered on the TX already.

#14 Orion Pax Jan 21, 2013 10:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RuralFPV (Post 23885738)
@ nano & Orion

Did either of you EVER connect power to the TX without an antenna hooked up?
.

I did not. everything was soldered before first power up.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Waffleman (Post 23887542)
at this scale, the anntenna comes pre-soldered on the TX already.

That is an incorrect statement. Mine was not and it is advertised as not.

I will say this, if the manufacturer took the time to put solder on the transmitter board like they did the camera board, it would make life a lot easier.

Orion

#15 LowlyElevated Jan 22, 2013 07:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Orion Pax (Post 23888368)

That is an incorrect statement. Mine was not and it is advertised as not.

Orion

I didn't realize that. All of the units I have seen online have an antenna already soldered.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.