RC Groups

RC Groups
    Electric Heli Talk
        Discussion Servo bandwidth

#1 boowho Jan 06, 2013 09:31 PM

Servo bandwidth
 
Trying to setup a CopterX gyro and match it to my TR servo.

CopterX options are 1520us 250HZ

1520us 333HZ

760us 400HZ

960us 333HZ

I've read somewhere that if incorrect settings are used the gyro or servo or even both can be destroyed. Do servo manufacturers publish this kind of info?

I've searched for various servo specs, but I've not seen this info included in any specs.


Anyone?

Boowho??

#2 eagle777 Jan 06, 2013 11:43 PM

What servo do you have?

#3 RC Man Jan 07, 2013 04:46 AM

The gyro settings have to exactly match your servo specifications.

#4 omgsales Jan 07, 2013 12:27 PM

The futaba's is 333Hz in 1500us!
So any servos compatible with Futaba's has the same!
In fact, many servo manufacturer do not know that!

#5 boowho Jan 07, 2013 02:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eagle777 (Post 23736322)
What servo do you have?

GoTec GS D-9253

It's apparently compatible with the Futaba 9253 which means 1520 and 333

My understanding is that the servo also comes as 760, but unless you have the original packaging there is no way to tell which one you have, since the model numbers are identical and no markings on the servo itself.

Thanks all....

Boowho??

#6 War Horse Jan 07, 2013 03:24 PM

I subscribed to this thread to see if anyone had an answere for your one question, which was " Do servo manufacturers publish this kind of info?" or more precisely , is there some data base for looking up various servo specs of this nature.

Not one of my 20+ servos came with that information. Very frustrating indeed :(

#7 WOS Jan 07, 2013 04:16 PM

A good point!
Can everyone list their favorite servo database other than www.servodatabase.com?

#8 mmracecars Jan 07, 2013 04:21 PM

goteck servo
 
http://goteckrc.com/download.asp

#9 eagle777 Jan 07, 2013 06:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boowho (Post 23741833)
GoTec GS D-9253

It's apparently compatible with the Futaba 9253 which means 1520 and 333

My understanding is that the servo also comes as 760, but unless you have the original packaging there is no way to tell which one you have, since the model numbers are identical and no markings on the servo itself.

Thanks all....

Boowho??

I see your point, it is hard if not impossible to tell the two apart except by experimentation possibly. I don't know of a database myself, sorry.

#10 Roto Rob Jan 07, 2013 07:07 PM

He said its the D version. I figure of the 9257, since 9253 is not listed.

#11 eagle777 Jan 07, 2013 07:12 PM

I noticed that, but am not familiar with GoTec other than their one 9257 I've owned. I wasn't sure if it was not included in the list, but available.

#12 omgsales Jan 08, 2013 03:16 PM

In fact, the frequency is not the most important data, so they don't show it !
Any servo maker will bring you a new frequency as they want.
Because the compatiblity is the radio. if your radio has good compatibility, then it works well!

#13 rotoraddict Jan 08, 2013 05:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by omgsales (Post 23740571)
The futaba's is 333Hz in 1500us!
So any servos compatible with Futaba's has the same!
In fact, many servo manufacturer do not know that!

Not true. Many of their servos that are designed for best Gyro functioning (e.g.S9256 & BLS251) with gyro units that can be used with them will use the shorter 750US bandwith and fast rate of 400Hz.

#14 rotoraddict Jan 08, 2013 05:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by omgsales (Post 23752794)
In fact, the frequency is not the most important data, so they don't show it !
Any servo maker will bring you a new frequency as they want.
Because the compatiblity is the radio. if your radio has good compatibility, then it works well!

The radio has little to do with the bandwith of the servo used. This selection (e.g. 1520, 960 or 760) is critical in setting for function with various gyros and FBl units.

#15 Roto Rob Jan 08, 2013 06:19 PM

Also, if the frequency is to high the servo motor will get hot. So if the servo is not designed to handle 333hz, the 250hz setting will be better.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.