RC Groups

RC Groups
    2DogRC
        Discussion New Dualsky Hornet 460 Quad!

#1 2dogrc Dec 07, 2012 07:49 PM

New Dualsky Hornet 460 Quad!
 
5 Attachment(s)
Hello,
I am posting about our new Dualsky Hornet 460 Quad. This is a great step up form the toys, like Sq1, for some fun LOS flying and entry level FPV. As a RC pilot I am good on planes, but can only hover a heli, and never flown a quad, even the toys. All the videos I took, still waiting to get a pro!

We got these in about 2 weeks ago and I could not wait to built it! The box says 30 minutes guarantee, and I was optimistic! It actually took us about 40 minutes, with some picture taking breaks! The Quad comes with 4 Dualsky 2830 830Kv motors, 4 XC22 LTE ESC's, and red and white LEDS pre-installed. A Flight controller is included as well. We did not have to set any settings on the FC!

I have about 10 flights on this with a Mad Dog 2200 11.1V battery. I am getting 10 minutes if hovering and 8 minute of zooming around the front yard. The current draw at 1/2 throttle (hover throttle) is 16A and full throttle about 25A static. This is with 9x4.7 SF props. The FC has a built in Dual rate, but all you need to fly is a 4 channel transmitter.

I was getting better so I got a go pro and mounted it on it. The quad weighs 2.5 lbs and I till get 7 minute of flight time. I have some videos and included links below. Working on FPV setup for it, and hope to have the required license and equipement in January.

For more information visit, www.2dogrc.com or our YouTube channel.

Mark
2dogrc

This is my first GoPro video
Go Pro Mounted on Dualsky Hornet First Flight! (1 min 17 sec)


This is a flight at Dusk. Listen and you can hear by neighbor asking if that is a UFO!
First Dualsky Hornet Night Flight, 2dogrc (0 min 44 sec)


This is a build video from the Australian Dealer
Dualsky Hornet 460 Quadcopter Assembly Manual (16 min 59 sec)

#2 2dogrc Dec 11, 2012 06:52 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Here is how I mounted my GoPro.

#3 dale69101 Dec 19, 2012 04:56 AM

Hi all, just put mine together and when I plugged the battery in all I am getting is a beeping sound. No lights on the unit and no power to the rx. Anyone got any ideas?

#4 2dogrc Dec 19, 2012 08:56 AM

I would recheck your wire setup. I have emailed Dualsly as we have not run into this yet.

#5 Stemme100 Jan 03, 2013 12:55 AM

Hornet 460 camera gimbal
 
2 Attachment(s)
I have a new Hornet 460 . I wanted to use a low , landing gear type camera gimbal. With the genuine unit not available I purchased unit from HK. While this is only cheap with some CAD work I made some new mounts. Works quite well . I mount a SONY HD handy cam with no problems.

Also one issue I have is a vibrating noise coming from the arms while flying? While the quad itself doesnt seem to be vibrating the noise is annoying.Does anyone else have these problems?

#6 2dogrc Jan 03, 2013 12:00 PM

Hello,
I would check your screws and make sure everything is tight.
Mark

#7 Stemme100 Jan 03, 2013 09:28 PM

They are all tight. The only problem with this quad is the screws are too tight . Really they need to be allen head screws.

#8 2dogrc Jan 04, 2013 10:10 AM

The screws do go in tight. We found that using a high quality screwdriver made a huge difference in putting this in. I have suggested the allen head screws to Dualsky. Maybe V2 will have those.

Mark

#9 MunGi Jan 04, 2013 03:06 PM

couple questions Hornet 460.....
 
this is a nice little bird to fly... thanks to all the previous posters and videographers for the valuable setup info.

I've never flown a quad before.... love my fixed wing props. got a couple of micro copters... so really a novice at anything like this. I used some left over green decal stickers from a mpx parkmaster to mark the front legs...

very easy to get hovering and some basic backwards, forwards, side to side and circles... all reasonaqbly slowly at this stage... not brave enough to flip or go to the high rates on the fc430. I've had it out twice in the last couple days. day 1 was 20kmh winds, day 2 was 30kmh winds. I am so impressed with the stability of the gyro. sure, those winds effected it, but it was easily flyable. I didn't even balance the props yet.

my one dissappointment in low rates is the level of yaw/rudder authority.

was wondering if anyone knows how to disable the FC430 rates and expo settings so I can program my tx to start getting some customised controls. I hope this lets me transition to the higher rates... big single step in the default settings. Being an absolute noob with these gyro fc things I fear there is more to it than unplugging the rates cable between the rx and fc430. Or do i set it to high and program my dr/expo over the top? any help appreciated.

second question is - can the stock motors & 22A escs handle the 10" props? can't find test data on the XM2830CA-14 830kv motor.... Dualsky Motor Calc program doesn't have it yet... but other similar motors appear ok - http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1078160

thanks in advance for any help.

MunGi

#10 2dogrc Jan 04, 2013 03:14 PM

MunGi,
As far as the rates, I am kinda new to this as well. You can adjust the gain in your transmitter on the Gear travel adjustment page. Default is -100% and max is 100% when you flip the switch. You could disconnect the channel 5 servo lead form the FC430 and set the rates on the FC30 and each channel individually. I would wait until you get some more quad skills so that when you make a change, you will know it was the FC430 and not you or the wind!

I hope that helps. I don't get to fly until Monday!
Mark

#11 MunGi Jan 04, 2013 05:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2dogrc (Post 23711764)
As far as the rates, I am kinda new to this as well. You can adjust the gain in your transmitter on the Gear travel adjustment page. Default is -100% and max is 100% when you flip the switch. You could disconnect the channel 5 servo lead form the FC430 and set the rates on the FC30 and each channel individually. I would wait until you get some more quad skills so that when you make a change, you will know it was the FC430 and not you or the wind!

Thanks for the advice Mark, that does sound like a more sensible approach given the conditions I've had to date. The few moments of calm have been "hands off" in hover etc... and very smooth by comparison to the general winds where I need to drive it.

anyone tried the stock electronics with gws style 10x4.5 props? - expect more thrust etc... but does it significantly change the handling style or does the fc430 cope with that without changing gains etc? I've got some nice brightly coloured ones that will assist a person like me in daylight flight.

#12 starn Jan 07, 2013 07:28 PM

Dualsky 460 question
 
I'm a beginner with quads. I set mine up according to the you tube video and when I arm the unit it does as described in the manual of running at idle and then I move the stick to keep it unlocked but at that point nothing happens and doesn't seem to recognize the stick movements and goes back into locked state. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? I'm using a dx8.

#13 Stemme100 Jan 08, 2013 02:36 AM

I had the same problem. ( using Futaba). I then went through the instructions and did the calibration (light flashing etc) and it came alive. Give it a try. Hope this helps.

#14 starn Jan 08, 2013 05:15 PM

Thanks Mark
 
Thanks for your help today Mark. Just letting you know I got it up on the first try without any problems and it flew great. Can't wait to get it inside this weekend at the golf dome. Thanks again
Steve

#15 2dogrc Jan 09, 2013 09:06 PM

I will be adding a color version of the wire setup page in the manual. That should help as well! Tried my first FPV flight today. Not exciting to watch, but exciting to fly! This quad has really got be energized to fly again! I now have 5 designated hornet packs, and fly at least 2x a day, and once at night.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.