RC Groups

RC Groups
    Radios
        Discussion Spektrum AR6210 failsafe problem

#1 Daytonarc Nov 13, 2012 08:33 AM

Spektrum AR6210 failsafe problem
 
I have a Spektrum AR6210 receiver that goes to full throttle when transmitter signal is lost. I have followed the propper bind proceedure (several times to make sure this was not the problem) by placing all controls at nuetral and throttle at low idle setting when binding. After propper bind proceedure if transmitter signal is lost (I turn off transmitter to simulat in flight signal loss) the throttle channel failsafes to wide open throttle. Throttle servo is JR537. No other chanels have this erratic function when transmitter signal is lost. Does anybody have any suggestions as to what may be wrong or how to fix this? Has anybody else experienced this? Obviously I would be worried about flying with this "wide open failsafe".

#2 richard hanson Nov 13, 2012 08:37 AM

Your throttle channel is reversed
the other channels just stop receiving commands to move -so nothing happens.

#3 Daytonarc Nov 13, 2012 08:41 AM

The throttle servo is reversed on the transmitter due to linkage configuration in aircraft. Transmitter is DX5e. The chanel is reversed via switch on transmitter (no programmable functions) but reverse switch is in reverse position when binding. How can I get the servo to failsafe to low idle with this configuration?

#4 richard hanson Nov 13, 2012 08:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daytonarc (Post 23256834)
The throttle servo is reversed on the transmitter due to linkage configuration in aircraft. Transmitter is DX5e. The chanel is reversed via switch on transmitter (no programmable functions) but reverse switch is in reverse position when binding. How can I get the servo to failsafe to low idle with this configuration?

Hmm- unless you add a simple bellcrank to linkage -or a reversed servo -I really don't know.

#5 AndyKunz Nov 13, 2012 08:45 AM

Set up the radio with the throttle in the correct low position.

Re-bind rx and tx.

Andy

#6 Reflex1 Nov 13, 2012 08:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daytonarc (Post 23256834)
The throttle servo is reversed on the transmitter due to linkage configuration in aircraft. Transmitter is DX5e. The chanel is reversed via switch on transmitter (no programmable functions) but reverse switch is in reverse position when binding. How can I get the servo to failsafe to low idle with this configuration?

I think all you now need to do,
is Rebind with the Throttle at Low

This should set new failsafe points

#7 richard hanson Nov 13, 2012 08:50 AM

I missed something ---

#8 Daytonarc Nov 13, 2012 08:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndyKunz (Post 23256875)
Set up the radio with the throttle in the correct low position.

Re-bind rx and tx.

Andy

Andy I have done this ( 4 times) and it still failsafes to wide open throttle. When bind plug is in receiver and receiver is powered up with tx off, throttle servo goes to wide open. Turn tx on with bind switch (trainer switch) held in up position, bind till solid rx light, let go of bind switch, throttle goes to low idle.

#9 richard hanson Nov 13, 2012 08:57 AM

Start over -bind - then remove bind plug when bind is completed.
Unless I read you incorrectly - the rx is now calling for "low throttle ".
Move throttle stick to full- turn off tx - servo will now go to low position
Y/N?

#10 Daytonarc Nov 13, 2012 08:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by richard hanson (Post 23256968)
Start over -bind - then remove bind plug when bind is completed.
Unless I read you incorrectly - the rx is now calling for "low throttle ".
Move throttle stick to full- turn off tx - servo will now go to low position
Y/N?

No still goes to wide open when tx is turned off

#11 AndyKunz Nov 13, 2012 09:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daytonarc (Post 23256909)
Andy I have done this ( 4 times) and it still failsafes to wide open throttle. When bind plug is in receiver and receiver is powered up with tx off, throttle servo goes to wide open. Turn tx on with bind switch (trainer switch) held in up position, bind till solid rx light, let go of bind switch, throttle goes to low idle.

So what happens if you now remove the bind plug, then power up the rx with the tx still off? It will go to the place you programmed it at the bind.

When the rx is in bind mode, there is NO SIGNAL TO THE THROTTLE! If it moves on power-up, that's because the servo went there on its own due to no throttle signal (a glitch on the line), NOT because the rx wanted it to go there.

There's not a solution for that, other than to use a servo with a different behavior. My guess is you have an analog throttle servo, no?

Andy

#12 Daytonarc Nov 13, 2012 09:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AndyKunz (Post 23257005)
So what happens if you now remove the bind plug, then power up the rx with the tx still off? It will go to the place you programmed it at the bind.

When the rx is in bind mode, there is NO SIGNAL TO THE THROTTLE! If it moves on power-up, that's because the servo went there on its own due to no throttle signal (a glitch on the line), NOT because the rx wanted it to go there.

There's not a solution for that, other than to use a servo with a different behavior. My guess is you have an analog throttle servo, no?

Andy

Andy, First of all I want to rocognize you for stellar customer service. Your instant replies and attention to customer concern is awsome. I was going to PM you with a link to this thread but you were on it before I had a chance. This is a new JR analog servo. I will try another servo when I get home tonight and let you know the result.

Thanks again to Horizon Hobby/Spektrum for unparalleled customer service!

#13 richard hanson Nov 13, 2012 09:49 AM

I tried my DX5 and a AR500 rx and two different servos
A JR9001 (old design)and a Spektrum 4020 and a fresh 4.8 volt pack
The TX worked correctly in either reversed or normal switch position.
IF the reversing switch is moved after the bind is completed and the plgu removed - then - the fail safe goes bonkers .

#14 Daytonarc Nov 13, 2012 09:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by richard hanson (Post 23257378)
I tried my DX5 and a AR500 rx and two different servos
A JR9001 (old design)and a Spektrum 4020 and a fresh 4.8 volt pack
The TX worked correctly in either reversed or normal switch position.
IF the reversing switch is moved after the bind is completed and the plgu removed - then - the fail safe goes bonkers .

Richard, Thanks. The reverse switch was in the correct position at bind. I will try another servo later this evening.

#15 AndyKunz Nov 13, 2012 10:35 AM

Skip the position of the reverse SWITCH for a second.

After you bind once, position the throttle STICK in the right (low throttle) position and use the switch to make sure the throttle is closed. Now DON'T touch the switch.

Now re-bind with the tx UNCHANGED stick positions.

Andy


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.